Curl BC Curl BC

Live Scoring

Seniors qualify for Vernon championships

January 21, 2020

Senior teams from across BC earned the opportunity to compete at the 2020 BC Senior Curling Championships this past weekend.

The 2020 BC Senior Curling Championships, featuring the top eight 50+ men’s teams and top seven 50+ women’s teams in BC, will go ahead at Vernon Curling Club from Feb. 18-23.

Playdowns at Tunnel Town Curling Club (Tsawwassen), McArthur Island Curling Club (Kamloops) and Powell River Curling Club determined six of the berths of each gender.

In Senior Women’s Lower Mainland play, Team Leanne Andrews from Golden Ears Winter Club and Royal City Curling Club were the first to qualify. Marnie Jepsen’s Royal City, Howe Sound and Comox Valley foursome were the next to qualify. They were joined by Royal City/Parksville foursome skipped by Donna Mychaluk and Lisa Deputan’s Chilliwack, Golden Ears Winter Club and Langley rink.

Team Penny Shantz from Parksville/Nanaimo and Comox Valley took the island berth at the event in Powell River, while Marilou Richter’s Penticton/Kelowna foursome took the Thompson-Okanagan berth.

In Senior Men’s Lower Mainland play, Team Macdonald from Marpole and Kelowna  was the first to qualify. Team Craig Lepine from Langley/Royal City/Penticton and Cloverdale was the other Lower Mainland team to earn a berth.

The Senior Men’s Okanagan playdown had three qualifiers: Team Longworth from Vernon and Winfield, Team Slattery from Kelowna and Royal City and Team Wright from Kelowna and Comox Valley.

Wes Craig’s Nanaimo/Kerry Park team took the Vancouver Island berth.

The remaining open senior playdown will go ahead at Peace Arch Curling Club on Jan. 31 to decide the final men’s team to travel to Vernon. The women’s open event, where the final women’s berth was available, will not be held due to lack of entries so the provincial will be a 7-team event.

The winning Senior Women’s team from playdowns at Castlegar Curling Club, which was held over the weekend of Jan. 10-12, was Team Nichol from Castlegar, Trail and Nelson. The winning men’s team was Team Buchy from Kimberley, Castlegar and Sparwood.

Visit for event information.