Curl BC Curl BC

Live Scoring


Curling has existed in British Columbia since 1895. The first clubs were located in Kaslo and Golden, in the Kootenays. The mining communities of Sandon, Rossland, Nelson, Trail, Phoenix and Greenwood also established clubs in the years that followed.

The Kootenays were the centre of curling until the end of World War II, when an explosion of interest in the sport spread across the province. In 1945 there were 27 clubs in the province and by 1960 there were 65 clubs.

The enthusiasm of early curlers for the game can best be understood by the distances they would travel to compete. Since most of the early clubs were in the Kootenays, those wishing to compete in a bonspiel from other areas of the province had to travel by train and stage coach to get to their destination, usually in extreme temperatures. The logistics of travel for curlers was particularly complicated by the necessity of transporting curling rocks. Many curlers had two sets to accommodate different ice conditions! In the modern game the rocks are kept at the curling club and there is no need to transport them.

Curling has made a unique and valuable contribution to both the social and sport history in British Columbia. Curling today remains a major winter sport in BC with active participation by residents across the province.

Curl BC celebrated the 125th anniversary of curling in 2020.

Curling Chronicle

Thanks to the members of the 100th Anniversary Committee for their work to produce the History of Curling in British Columbia 1985-1995, to publish the chronicle below. The committee from 1995 included:

  • Murray Soder (Past President of BCICA and Curl BC)
  • Dr. Eric Jamieson (President of PCCA and Curl BC)
  • Janice Mori (Vice President of BCLCA)
  • Jim Gordon (Historian, PCCA)
  • Linda Moore (Executive Director, Curl BC)

1895 – Golden and Kaslo join the Manitoba Branch of the Royal Caledonian Curling Club

1896 – Sandon commenced curling and affiliated with the Manitoba Branch

1897 – Armstrong form club

1898 – Nelson and Rossland join the Manitoba Branch

Kootenay Curling Association formed

First bonspiel in British Columbia with 18 rinks from Rossland, Kaslo, Nelson, Sandon and Revelstoke

1899 – Ashcroft form club

1900 – Trail and Revelstoke join association

1901 – Phoenix club formed

1902 – Greenwood club formed

1903 – Atlin club formed

1905 – Enderby club formed

1906 – BCCA affiliated directly with the RCCA, ending affiliation through the Manitoba Branch

Cranbrook and Trout Lake affiliate

1909 – Grand Forks and Fernie clubs formed

1912 – Wilmer Curling Club formed

1913 – Athalmere Curling Club formed

1914 – Kamloops Curling Club formed

Windermere Curling Association formed

1920 – Prince George Curling Club formed

Penticton Club formed

1921 – Invermere Curling Club built to replace Athalmere Club

1925 – Selkirk Curling Association was formed and included clubs from Bull River, Lumberton, Moyie, Chapman Camp, Kimberley, Cranbrook to Blairmore, Alberta

1927 – Trail Ladies Curling Club was formed

1928 – Bull River affiliated with BCCA

1929 – Moyie disbanded when smelter closed

1931 – Bull River curlers move to Canal Flats

1932 – The Vancouver Club affiliated

The Pacific Bonspiel was started

1935 – The Dominion Curling Association was established at Toronto

1936 – BCCA still an affiliate of the Royal Caledonian Curling Club and didn’t affiliate with the Dominion Curling Association until late 1936

1939 – Thirteen (13) new clubs affiliated.

The Penticton Curling Club returned temporarily

1948 – BC School Curling started by Pop Wallace of Nelson

1949 – Kamloops and Princeton affiliated to make 21 clubs in the BCAA

1951 – British Columbia Ladies Curling Association formed

1952 – BCLCA admitted to BCCA with associate membership. BCCA now had 46 affiliated clubs.

1956 – Kitimat and Terrace affiliate

Bralorne and Pioneer Mines clubs amalgamated as Bridge River Valley Club

1959 – Yukon admitted to BCCA

1960 – PCCA granted affiliation with Dominion Curling Association

Canadian Ladies Curling Association founded

1963 – BCCA recognized the Senior Curling Association of BC

1970 – Frank Avery becomes the first curler inducted into the BC Sports Hall of Fame

1975 – Curl Canada formed

1976 – Last year for Yukon as zone of BCLCA and BCCA

1981 – BCCA changed name to BC Interior Curling Association

1982 – Curling Council of B.C. formed July 26, 1982

1988 – Misty Isles Curling Club was formed

1992 – Curl BC formed June 17, 1992