Curl BC Curl BC

Live Scoring

New Champions crowned at the 2023 BC Club Curling Championships, Presented by Original 16

April 02, 2023

The medal winners and new Team BC representatives have been determined at the Abbotsford Curling Club for the 2023 BC Men’s and Women’s Curling Club Championships.

The semi-finals stepped on the ice in the morning, with Team Shantz (Qualicum) and Team Winters (Nelson) on the women’s side, and Team Orme (Vernon) and Team Komlodi (Victoria) on the men’s side.

Team Shantz and Team Winters went to an extra end after Team Shantz was not able to set up for the game winning deuce in the eighth end. However, they were able to steal the single in the extra to take the game from Team Winters. Team Shantz would move on to the championship final by a score of 6-5.

Team Orme and Team Komlodi traded deuces and singles throughout the game. Team Orme would get the game-defining deuce in the eighth end to win the game 6-5.

With the semi-finals complete, the finals were on in the afternoon with new champions to be crowned.

On the women’s side, Team Shantz and Team Sandwith-Craig (Duncan) met for a battle of the Island. They had met previously in the A-Qualifier game with Team Sandwith-Craig narrowly winning that matchup. In this all-important final, Team Sandwith-Craig was able to make the most of the eighth end and did not have to throw their final rock to seal the win. They would become the 2023 BC Women’s Curling Club Champions by a score of 5-3.

For the men, Team Orme and Team Guignard (Vancouver) took it all the way to an extra end in the final after Team Orme stole a single in the eighth end. Team Guignard had a shot for the win with hammer in the extra end, but the rock had just a touch too much weight. Team Orme would steal the win, becoming the 2023 BC Men’s Curling Club Champions by a score of 8-7.

Thank you to the talented and dedicated host committee headed up by Debi Sands, club manager and ice technician Kent Bird and his team, head umpire Kathleen MacKenzie, and an army of timers, umpires, score updaters and live-streaming assistants. A huge thank-you goes out to everyone who made the proceedings such a fantastic success – it was a great way to close the championship season in British Columbia.

Congratulations to all of the medalists and award winners.


GOLD – Team Orme, Vernon (Tyler Orme, Trevor Perepolkin, Rob Nobert, Jamie Austin)

SILVER – Team Guignard, Vancouver (Jeff Guignard, Chris Faa, Derek Brower, Richard Brower)

BRONZE – Team Komlodi, Victoria (Andrew Komlodi, Joel Cave, Thomas Thierbach, Cameron Butt)

Sportsmanship – Nathan Small, Team Small, Nelson


GOLD – Team Sandwith-Craig, Duncan (Carley Sandwith-Craig, Marika Van Osch, Roselyn Craig, Megan Mongomery)

SILVER – Team Shantz, Qualicum (Penny Shantz, Nicole Backe, Marla Guldbransen, Shelly Stouffer, Janet Suter)

BRONZE – Team Winters, Nelson (Jill Winters, Randi Ludwar, Kristina Little, Marla Dreher)

Sportsmanship – Megan Montgomery, Team Sandwith-Craig, Duncan

This event is supported in part by grants from the Province of British Columbia and Hosting BC.