Curl BC Curl BC

Live Scoring

Final Mixed Doubles teams qualify

February 06, 2020

The final two Mixed Doubles teams have booked their ticket to the BC Championship in Hope and now the field is complete.

The 2020 BC Mixed Doubles Curling Championship takes place at Hope Curling Club from Feb. 25 to Mar. 1, 2020.

The fast-paced version of the game features one male and one female curler and the game is played over eight ends (instead of the usual 10). Mixed Doubles curling debuted at the Pyeongchang Olympics and is due to be in Beijing in 2022.

The BC championship in Hope will be a 16-team competition. Playdowns over this past weekend in Hope saw the final two teams qualify, with 14 berths determined at earlier regional playdowns.

A local team from Hope made up of Debbie McKinney and Terry Foord took the first berth. The other team to qualify was the Victoria Curling Club team of Sasha Wilson and Duncan Silversides.

In this format each team has only six stones and one of those stones from each team is prepositioned on the centre line before every end of play. One player delivers the first and last stones of the end while the other player throws the second, third and fourth stones. If they choose to, the two players may swap positions from one end to the next. Both team members are also allowed to sweep.

The winner of this event will go on to represent BC at the national mixed doubles competition.

BC curlers Tyler Tardi and Dezaray Hawes have already qualified for nationals through the Curling Canada NextGen Mixed Doubles event that took place at the Canada Cup in Leduc, Alberta, during the last week of November.

The Canada Inns Canadian Mixed Doubles Curling Championship will take place in Portage La Prairie, Manitoba from Mar. 17-22, 2020.

Full rosters of teams:


Team Jensen/Deane – Tunnel Town

Shawna Jensen

Connor Deane


Team DenToom/Merchant – Vancouver Curling Club

Allison DenToom

David Marchant


Team Prinse/Gamache – Chilliwack/GEWC

Stephanie Prinse

Rhys Gamache


Team Ward/Gallaugher – Royal City

Shannon Ward

Robbie Gallaugher


Team Woo/Wenzek – Royal City

Courtney Woo

Daniel Wenzek


Team Pohlod/Prade – Delta Thistle

Layna Pohlod

Patrick Prade

Coach: Gregory Pohlod


Team Geiger – Abbotsford

Debbie Geiger

Dean Geiger


Team Little/Small – Nelson

Kristina Little

Nathan Small


Team Everest/Cseke – Kelowna

Elise Everest

Adam Cseke


Team Sandwith/de Jong – Victoria

Carley Sandwith

Cameron de Jong


Team Jackson-Baier/Chester – Victoria

Steph Jackson Baier

Corey Chester


Team Wilson/Cowan – Victoria/Tunnel Town/Delta

Kayla Wilson

Troy Cowan


Team King Simpson/Croteau – Victoria/Campbell River

Karly King Simpson

Connar Croteau


Team Czirfusz/Cheung – Prince George

Eryn Czirfusz

Mattias Cheung

Coach: Doug Dalziel


Team McKinney/Foord – Hope

Debbie McKinney

Terry Foord


Team Wilson/Silversides – Victoria

Sasha Wilson

Duncan Silversides