Curl BC Curl BC

Live Scoring

Curlers converge on Armstrong for 2023 BC Stick Curling Championships

February 14, 2023

The Thompson-Okanagan will see some great curling this week, as the 2023 BC Open Stick Championship and the 2023 Women’s Stick championship both hit the ice from February 17th-19th in BC’s capital of stick curling, Armstrong.

A regular supporter of stick curling, the Armstrong Curling Club has a long record of holding mixed, men’s, women’s and open stick leagues. In addition, the club hosts multiple stick bonspiels in the fall and winter months that are focused on recreational and competitive stick curlers.

Many thanks also go to chief ice technician/facility manager Steve Gunner and his talented crew who have prepared a top-notch playing surface; chief umpire Ted Anderson and deputy chief umpire David Walker; the talented group of volunteers headed up by Derrell Sears, and Curl BC board liaison Brenda M’Clellan. All their support and dedication leading up to and during this championship is much appreciated.

The Open Stick Championship teams are:


Team Maurer/Graf

Brian Maurer and Cole Graf

Salmon Arm Curling Club


Team Konrad/Criss

Jake Konrad and Rick Criss

Armstrong Curling Club


Team Prokopetz/Wejr

Jack Prokopetz and Al Wejr

Vernon Curling Club


Team Campbell/Sears

John Campbell and Derrell Sears

Armstrong Curling Club


Team Smith/Pieper

Tim Smith and Chris Pieper

Armstrong Curling Club


Team Mould/Shalansky

Jamie Mould and Gary Shalansky

Prince George Golf and Curling Club


Team Fowler/Heinrichs

Bill Fowler and Wayne Heinrichs

Armstrong Curling Club


The Women’s Stick Championship Teams are:


Team Knopp/Tattersall

Carole Knopp and Evelyn Tattersall

Enderby Curling Club


Team Jeffrey/Palmer

Pat Jeffrey and Terri Palmer

Kelowna Curling Club


Team McLaughlin/Mouncey

Deb McLaughlin and Dianne Mouncey

Armstrong Curling Club


Team Farynuk/Zarowny

Sandra Farynuk and Betty Zarowny

Enderby Curling Club


Team Radcliffe/Richard

Marion Radcliffe and Kerrylyn Richard

Kelowna Curling Club


Team Heinrichs/Anderson

Caroline Heinrichs and Jenny Anderson

Armstrong Curling Club


Team Campbell/Hughes

Margaret Campbell and Tammy Hughes

Kelowna Curling Club


Team Burton/Saul-Fowler

Louise Burton and Kathy Saul-Fowler

Armstrong Curling Club


Team Sears/Heinrichs

Sheron Sears and Carol Heinrichs

Armstrong Curling Club


The winner of this championship will qualify for the 2023 Canadian Stick Curling Championships as Team BC. The National Championships will be hosted by the Nanaimo Curling Centre from March 30th–April 2nd, 2023.