Curl BC Curl BC

Live Scoring

2024 BC U21 & Stick Championships – Wrap-up

February 18, 2024

Hosted by the Salmon Arm Curling Club, the 2024 BC U21 and Stick Curling Championships concluded successfully from February 14-18.

The event commenced with the Stick Championships, featuring 15 pairs competing across the Open and Women’s categories. In the Open Category, the finalists hailed from the Armstrong Curling Club. Derrell Sears and John Campbell clinched the championship title after defeating Chris Pieper and Tim Smith with a score of 4-2. Gary Shalansky and Jamie Mould, also from Armstrong, secured the Bronze, although Gary was unable to compete in the Semi-Final due to an injury sustained in the 1 vs 2 game. We extend our best wishes to Gary for a swift recovery.

In the Women’s Category, Kathy Saul-Fowler and Louise Burton, representing Armstrong, emerged victorious by triumphing over Pat Jeffrey and Terri Palmer from Kelowna with a score of 5-1. Enderby’s Sandra Farynuk and Betty Zarowny claimed the Bronze after finishing second in the round-robin.

Moving on to the U21 Championships, Team Bowles from Victoria secured the Women’s Championship for the second consecutive year, defeating Kamloops’ Team Hafeli with a score of 8-6 in the final. Skip Emily Bowles expressed their delight, stating, “We’re obviously thrilled to be going to the nationals again. We’re really looking to go and just have a really great showing there and try to get somewhere high up in the standings. Luck was definitely on our side today.” Despite playing with only three curlers, Team Rempel took home the bronze medal.

In the U21 Men’s Championship, Team Fenton from Royal City defended their title by overpowering Team Beck in the final with a commanding 10-4 victory. Skip Adam Fenton expressed determination, saying, “We have some unfinished business at nationals. We got knocked out of the playoffs just off head-to-head. We’ve been getting lots of experience and really growing our game. When we go to the nationals, we’re looking to win it all. We’re looking to be on the podium with a medal.” Team Wilson secured the bronze medal.

Curling Canada awarded B.C. with 2 men’s and 1 women’s spots in the Nationals. Consequently, Team Bowles, Team Fenton and Team Beck will represent B.C. in the National U21 Championship scheduled from March 23-31 in Fort McMurray Wood Buffalo, Alberta.

Congratulations to all of the following medalists:

2024 BC Stick Curling Championships

Open – Gold: Derrell Sears and John Campbell
Open – Silver: Chris Pieper and Tim Smith
Open – Bronze: Gary Shalansky and Jamie Mould
Women’s – Gold: Kathy Saul-Fowler and Louise Burton
Women’s – Silver: Pat Jeffrey and Terri Palmer
Women’s – Bronze: Sandra Farynuk and Betty Zarowny

2024 BC U21 Curling Championships

Women’s – Gold: Team Bowles
(Skip – Emily Bowles, Third – Meredith Cole, Second – Gabby Brissette, Lead – Mahra Harris, Coach – Logan Miron)

Women’s – Silver: Team Hafeli
(Skip – Holly Hafeli, Third – Jorja Kopytko, Second – Ella Casparis, Lead – Natalie Hafeli, Coach – Monica Makar)

Women’s – Bronze: Team Rempel
(Skip – Hannah Rempel, Third – Megan Rempel, Second – Parker Rempel, Lead – Lauren Cochrane, Coach – Wendy Cseke)

Men’s – Gold: Team Fenton
(Skip – Adam Fenton, Third – Thomas Reed, Second – Chris Parkinson, Lead – Miles Reed, Coach – Brad Fenton)

Men’s – Silver: Team Beck
(Skip – Alex Duncan-Wu, Third – Kaiden Beck, Second – Nolan Beck, Lead – Harrison Hrynew, Coach – Dale Hofer)

Men’s – Bronze: Team Wilson
(Skip – Colby Wilson, Third – Conner Applegate, Second – Ryan Cowell, Lead – Isaac Villeneuve, Coach – Laura Tomlinson)

Congratulations to the following award winners:

Sportsmanship Award (Women’s Stick) – Carole Knopp
Sportsmanship Award (Open Stick) Winner – Gary Shalansky
Flora Martin Sportsmanship Award – Ivy Jensen (Team Arndt)
Gordon Hooey Sportsmanship Award – Adam Fenton (Team Fenton) & Jesse Tiede (Team Tiede)
Asham Coaching Award – Blair Jarvis (Team Reynolds) & David Arndt (Team Arndt)

Curl BC would like to thank the Organizing Committee, Salmon Arm Curling Club, Province of BC, Ice King/Guspro, Roll Focus, Dave Whitfield, volunteers, coaches and athletes for the support and effort that made this Championships a success.

Check out our Facebook albums for all of the photos:

Stick Championships – Team Profiles & Action Photos

U21 Championships – Team Profiles & Action Photos