Curl BC Curl BC

Live Scoring

2024 BC Masters Championships – Wrap-up

February 25, 2024

Hosted by the Cranbrook Curling Club, the 2024 BC Masters Curling Championships concluded successfully from February 21-25.

Team Shantz’s third consecutive Women’s Masters Champion took the spotlight of the competition, but it was not all smooth sailing for the team. They posted a 3-2 record in the round robin, including a 0-8 defeat to Team Sanders. They faced Team Deputan in the semi-final in a see-saw battle and won it by 7-5. In the final, they redeemed themselves against Team Sanders by winning 6-3, which featured a 4-ender in the 6th.

In the Men’s Championship, Team Craig claimed the trophy in dominant fashion, losing only to Team Karbashewski in the 7-team round robin round. They faced Team Wright in the final, who came second in the round robin with a 4-2 record. The final score was 8-5.

Team Shantz and Team Craig will represent B.C. at the 2024 Canadian Masters Curling Championships from April 7 to 13, 2024 at Saguenay, Quebec.

Congratulations to all of the following medalists:

2024 BC Masters Curling Championships

Women’s – Gold: Team Shantz
(Skip: Penny Shantz, Third: Cindy Curtain, Second: Danielle Shaughnessy, Lead: Donna Mychaluk)

Women’s – Silver: Team Sanders
(Skip: Pat Sanders, Third: Lynn Lee, Second: Frankie Reekie, Lead: Joy Walker, Fifth: Joan Fiedler)

Women’s – Bronze: Team Deputan
(Skip: Lisa Deputan, Third: Heather Nichol, Second: Crystal Murray, Lead: Victoria Murphy)

Men’s – Gold: Team Craig
(Skip: Wes Craig, Third: Ron Schmidt, Second: Tony Anslow, Lead: Victor Gamble)

Men’s – Silver: Team Wright
(Skip: Steve Wright, Third: Dave Johnston, Second: Blake King, Lead: Jim Stephenson)

Men’s – Bronze: Team C. Lepine
(Skip: Craig Lepine, Third: Neil Houston, Second: Kevin Jeannotte, Lead: Mike Pelech)

Congratulations to the following award winners:

Lorraine Gagnon Sportsmanship Award – Cindy Curtain (Team Shantz)
Sportsmanship Award (Men’s) – Mike Pelech (Team C. Lepine)

Curl BC would like to thank the Organizing Committee, Cranbrook Curling Club, City of Cranbrook, Province of BC, all the local sponsors, volunteers, coaches and athletes for the support and effort that made this Championships a success.

Check out our Facebook album for all the photos: