Curl BC Curl BC

Live Scoring

2023 BC Open and Women’s Stick Curling Championships Day 3 and Finals Recap

February 20, 2023

It was championship Sunday at the Armstrong Curling Club for the 2023 BC Open and Women’s Stick Curling Championships. With only 4 teams remaining in each division, the competition was fierce.

The Page 1v2 games were the first games on the ice this morning. By qualifying through the A- and B- Events, all teams had two potential paths: earning a direct spot in the final with a win or falling to the semi-final for a second chance with a loss.

In the Open Page 1v2 game, A-Qualifier Team Fowler/Heinrichs (Armstrong) and B-Qualifier Team Campbell/Sears (Armstrong) had a tight match that went to an extra end. It was Team Campbell/Sears nabbing the point they needed to win 4-3 and put themselves in the provincial final.

In the Women’s Page 1v2 game, a steal of 2 in the final end by A-Qualifier Team Farynuk/Zarowny (Enderby) sealed the 6-3 win for them over B-Qualifier Team Knopp/Tattersol (Enderby).

The next draw saw both Page 3v4 games played. These teams did not have the luxury of a second chance, so all teams were in a must-win situation to keep their run for the provincial title alive.

In the Open Page 3v4 game, Team Prokopetz/Wejr (Vernon) kept the game close the whole way. The game even went to an extra end. However, they were not able to utilize the hammer in the extra end to grab the win, as Team Mould/Shalansky (Prince George) stole 2 to put themselves in the semi-final against Team Fowler/Heinrichs. The final score of the Open Page 3v4 game was 5-3.

The Women’s Page 3v4 was a strong game for Team Radcliffe/Richard (Kelowna). They prevented their opponents, Team Burton/Saul-Fowler (Armstrong), from getting on the scoreboard. With their 5-0 win, Team Radcliffe/Richard were ready to face Team Knopp-Tattersol in the semi-final.

The semi-finals were the last chance for teams to get themselves a spot in the championship final.

Team Fowler/Heinrichs was looking for a rebound from the Page 1v2 loss in this Open semi-final, while Team Mould/Shalansky wanted to stay on the winning side of the bracket. Both teams kept it simple, leading to four blank ends. In the extra, Team Fowler/Heinrichs came up short on their last draw, leaving Team Mould/Shalansky sitting the one they needed to win the game 2-1.

Team Knopp/Tattersol was jumping on the ice after a quick break, while Team Radcliffe/Richard was coming off a big win with no break in between. Both situations could be an arguable advantage, but fate went the way of Team Radcliffe/Richard, who won their spot in the final 3-2.

With the Open provincial title on the line, Team Campbell/Sears and Team Mould/Shalansky got down to business. This game, like many of the games earlier in the day, went to an extra end. Team Campbell/Sears were able to grab the 4-2 home ice win with a score of 2 in the extra.

In the women’s final, it was clear Team Radcliffe/Richard was out to win from the get-go. Like their Page 3v4 game earlier in the day, they did not let their opposition, Team Farynuk/Zarowny, onto the scoreboard. It was a 9-0 victory after four ends for the team from Kelowna.

Congratulations to our newest BC Champions! The final medal standings:

Open Division

Gold: Team Campbell/Sears, Armstrong Curling Club (Derrell Sears, John Campbell)

Silver: Team Mould/Shalansky, Prince George Golf and Curling Club (Gary Shalansky, Jamie Mould)

Bronze: Team Fowler/Heinrichs, Armstrong Curling Club (Bill Fowler, Wayne Heinrichs)

Women’s Division

Gold: Team Radcliffe/Richard, Kelowna Curling Club (Marion Radcliffe, Kerrylyn Richard)

Silver: Team Farynuk/Zarowny, Enderby Curling Club (Betty Zarowny, Sandra Farynuk)

Bronze: Team Knopp/Tattersol, Enderby Curling Club (Carole Knopp, Evelyn Tattersol)

The champions were not the only winners this weekend. Congratulations to Jack Prokopetz (Vernon) and Terri Palmer (Kelowna) on being recognized by their peers for the Sportsmanship Awards.