Curl BC Curl BC

Live Scoring

2023 BC Club Championships, presented by Original 16, roll into Abbotsford this week

March 28, 2023

This week, BC’s best club curlers will meet in Abbotsford for the 2023 BC Club Curling Championships, presented by Original 16. Competition will take place from March 28th to April 2nd, and feature thirteen mens’ teams and five women’s teams.

To qualify for play, each team must be comprised of a minimum 3 players that are registered to play together on the same team, in an eligible league at their club, during the 2022-23 season,

The Club Championships will take place over thirteen draws with A, B, and C qualifiers for both the men’s and women’s competitions, and gold medal games taking place on Sunday, April 2nd.

Behind the scenes, this event was made possible by a talented and dedicated host committee headed up by Debi Sands, club manager and ice technician Kent Bird and his team, head umpire Kathleen MacKenzie, and an army of timers, umpires, score updaters and live-streaming assistants.

Winners of the Club Championship will go to play at the Everest Canadian Curling Club Championships at Winnipeg’s Assiniboine Memorial Curling Club, from November 19-25.


Men’s Teams:


Team Gagnon – Abbotsford

Dayne Gagnon, skip; Russell Foster, third; Nathan Sharpe, second; Kurtis Appeldoorn, lead


Team Watson – Chilliwack

Aaron Watson, skip; Kelly Watson, third; Darren Jarvis, second; Bob Neid, lead; Rob Hornsby, alternate


Team Wright – Kelowna

Steve Wright, skip; Gary Brucker, third; Shaun Everest, second; Geoff McIntyre, lead


Team Craig – Kerry Park

Wes Craig, skip; Miles Craig; third; Con Haug, second; Adam Bloch-Hansen, lead


Team Frycz – Langley

Darren Frycz, skip; Mike Sitter, third; Don Monk, second; Steve Claxton, lead; Kelly Folk, alternate


Team Guanzon – Marpole

Armando Guanzon, skip; Mike Eastwood, third; Ernest Moi, second; Ian Baart, lead


Team Masuch – Mission

Brent Masuch, skip; Rob Carmichael, third; Cory Robinson, second; Jason Hnatiuk, lead


Team Small – Nelson

Nathan Small, skip; James McKenzie, third; Sam Boily, second; Matt Moreira, lead


Team Gomes – Richmond

Chris Gomes, skip; Patrick Prade, third; Martin Perry, second; Brian Cole, lead


Team Johnston – Royal City

Cody Johnston, skip; Will Sutton, third; Peter Vanleeuwen, second; Craig Lighbody, lead; Rob Jones, alternate


Team Guignard – Vancouver

Jeff Guignard, skip; Chris Faa, third; Deryk Brower, second; Richard Brower, lead


Team Orme – Vernon

Tyler Orme, skip; Trevor Perepolkin, third; Rob Nobert, second; Jamie Austin, lead


Team Komlodi – Victoria

Andrew Komlodi, skip; Joel Cave, third; Thomas Thierbach, second; Cameron Butt, lead


Women’s Teams:


Team Shantz – Qualicum

Penny Shantz, skip; Nicole Backe, third; Marla Guldbransen, second; Shelly Stouffer, lead; Janet Suter, fifth


Team Winters – Nelson

Jill Winters, skip; Randi Ludwar, third; Kristina Little, second; Marla Dreher, lead


Team Sandwith-Craig – Duncan

Carley Sandwith-Craig, skip; Marika Van Osch, third; Roselyn Craig, second; Megan Montgomery, lead;


Team Hannah – Golden Ears

Colleen Hannah, skip; Lisa Speers; third; Becky Abbot, second; Kaelen Cole-Lysters, lead


Team Sauer – Abbotsford

Karen Sauer, skip; Michelle Dunn, third; Allie Bourne, second; Krista Bartel, lead


This event is supported in part by grants from the Province of British Columbia and Hosting BC.

Photo: Cassidy Dankochik/Quesnel Cariboo Observer