

Via Zoom webconference

Gordon	Smith	100 Mile House Curling Club		
David	Primrose	Abbotsford Curling Club		
Terri	Nicholson	Armstrong Curling Club		
Mickey	Colburn	Comox Valley Curling Club		
Susan	Sundve	Curl Mackenzie Dawson Creek Curling Club		
Deanna Larson	Larson			
Patrick	Prade	Delta Thistle Curling Club		
Kent	Evenson	Fort St John Curling Club		
Terry	Hawley	Golden Ears Winter Club		
Ray	Scott	Hope Curling Club		
RON	MACDONALD	Kamloops Curling Centre		
Jan	Martens	Kelowna Curling Club		
Darrell	Downey	Kerry Park Curling CentreMcArthur Island Curling ClubMission Granite ClubNanaimo Curling ClubParksville Curling ClubPort Moody Curling ClubPowell River Curling Club		
Kevin	Ihlen			
Katherine	Johnson			
April	Gale-Seixeiro			
Penny	Shantz			
Earlene	Graham			
Don	Mitchinson			
Robert	Jensen	Qualicum & District Curling Club		
Nick	Hsu	Richmond Curling Club		
Stephen	Корf	Royal City Curling Club		
Donna	Shultz	Salmon Arm Curling Club		
Don	Lawrence	Summerland Curling Club		
Tiger	L'HEUREUX	Terrace Curling Association		
Colin	Chan	Vancouver Curling Club		
Colin	Coughlin	Victoria Curling Club		

Voting members attendance:

Observers in attendance:

Kent	Bird	Abbotsford Curling Club
		Coquitlam Curling Association
Barry	Ayers	(associate member)
Derrell	Sears	Curl BC Stick Rep
Chris	Simpson	Curl Mackenzie
Jeff	Ginter	Dawson Creek Curling Club
Jessica	McWilliams	Hope Curling Club
Bruce	Solomchuk	Kelowna Curling Club
Bruce	Morrison	Mill Bay Senior Select
Mary Ellen	Konyer	Nanaimo Curling Club

		Optimist Junior Interclub Curling	
Al	Kersey	LeagueQualicum & District Curling ClubQualicum & District Curling ClubRichmond Winter ClubRichmond Winter ClubRoyal City Curling ClubRoyal City Curling Club	
Lena	West		
Dan	Drake		
Lorraine	Warn		
Janice	Froese		
Victoria	Murphy		
Brad	Fenton		

Board/Board-Elect in attendance

Teri Palynchuk, Chair and Regional Governor for 8,9&10, Peter Muir, Past Chair, Neil Campbell, Vice Chair and Governor at Large, Keith Switzer, Vice Chair and Chair of the Governance Committee and Governor at Large, Terry Hawes, Chair of the Finance and Audit Committee and Governor at Large, Dale Gregory Regional Governor for Regional 11, Shaun Everest, Regional Governor for Region 3,4&7, Marg McKenzie Regional Governor for Region 1&2. Board-Elect in attendance: Terry Phillips, Regional Governor for Region 5&6 and Andrew Benson, Governor at Large. Regrets: Morgan Lypka and Brendan Willis.

Staff in attendance

Scott Braley, CEO, Will Sutton, Competitions Manager, Kim Dennis, Member Services Manager, Rebecca Connop Price, Communications & Marketing Manager, Melissa Soligo, High Performance Director, Lindsay Shannon, Administrative Manager, Jason Liu, Education and Youth Development Coordinator. Regrets: Maimie Li-Cleto, Financial Coordinator.

1. Call to Order & Introductions

Teri P. called the meeting to order at 1:05 and provided the following territory acknowledgement: "I'd like to begin by acknowledging that while you are all joining us from communities and regions across the province, we are hosting this virtual meeting on the traditional, ancestral and unceded territory of the Snuneymuxw First Nation. Curl BC is honored to ground our work on these territories, as we strive to increase access to curling for all British Columbians."

- Confirmation of Quorum
 21 voting delegates were present at the start of meeting. That number grew to 27.
- 3. Proceeding Overview
- Approval of the Agenda Teri P.
 MOTION: To approve the agenda as presented. Moved by Katherine Johnson of Mission Granite and seconded by Penny Shantz of Parksville Curling Club.
 CARRIED.
- Approval of the Minutes Teri P.
 MOTION: To approve the minutes of the Annual General Meeting held June 13, 2020. Moved by Terri Nicholson of Armstrong Curling Club and seconded by Steve Kopf of Royal City Curling Club.
 CARRIED.

Teri P.

Teri P.

Teri P.

Teri Palynchuk, Chair

Teri thanked clubs, curlers, volunteers, Curl BC staff and Curling Canada staff for all the work carried out during the past season.

- 7. Curling Canada Update Kathy Henderson, Curling Canada CEO Kathy highlighted some key areas over the past year that Curling Canada has made progress on including: Diversity, Equity and Inclusion and Safe Sport initiatives. She thanked Curl BC for being a good partner and sharing resources.
- 8. Presentation of 2020/21 Financial Statements (see slides) Terry Hawes, Chair, Finance & Audit Q & A session

Question from Don Mitchinson from Powell River Curling Club. Have you considered refunding affiliation fees?

Scott B. We have been dealing with refund requests on a case by case basis. It depends on how much of the season the club was able to open for.

- 9. Appointment of the Auditor Terry H. **MOTION**: To reappoint **Baker Tilly WM LLP** as the auditor for the 2021-22 fiscal year. Moved by Penny Shantz of Parksville Curling Club and seconded by Steve Kopf of Royal City Curling Club. CARRIED.
- 10. Operational Report (see slides)
 - Overview of 2020-21 Annual Awards

During the overview, Scott surprised chair Teri Palynchuk with the news that she had been awarded the Janette Robbins Builder Award/Sport BC Presidents' Award for her dedicated service to curling. Teri has sat on the board for 6 years and chaired the board during a very challenging time.

- Q & A session
- 11. Special Resolution to modify the by-laws (see slides)

	 Bylaw Change Synopsis 	Scott B.		
	 Core Proposal for Zone-Region Bylaw Changes 	Scott B.		
	• 2021-Bylaws Comparison	Scott B.		
	• 2021-Bylaws-Proposal	Scott B.		
	Questions & Clarifications	Scott B.		
Question from April Gale-Seixeiro from Nanaimo Curling Centre – The bylaws call for gender balance				

but what is in place to address individuals who are non-binary? Scott B. That will be the next step.

MOTION: To revise Curl BC's by-laws with the changes as presented in the document "2021-Bylaws Comparison". NOTE: Must be approved by over 2/3 of the voting delegates. Moved by Penny Shantz of Parksville Curling Club and seconded by Katherine Johnson of Mission Granite Curling Club. CARRIED.

- 12. Governors at Large Election
 - Keith Switzer, Vancouver, by acclamation
 - Andrew Benson, Cranbrook, by acclamation

MOTION: To approve the election of Keith Switzer and Andrew Benson as Governors at Large by acclamation. Moved by Steve Kopf of Royal City Curling Club and seconded by Terri Nicholson of Armstrong Curling Club. CARRIED.

Teri P.

Scott Braley, CEO

NOTE: A VIDEO OF THE AGM IS AVAILABLE AT: https://youtu.be/rKrqAjYdSGo

• Marg McKenzie, Regions 1 & 2 (2019-21) • Peter Muir, Past Chair (2014-21)

14.

Teri thanked Marg and Peter for their service to curling.

- **Concluding Remarks and Adjournment** MOTION: To adjourn the meeting. Moved by Patrick Prade from Delta Thistle Curling Club. CARRIED.
- 15.

• Regions 8, 9 & 10 (Zone 6) to be appointed by the new Board for one year.

13. Introduction of New Regional (Zone) Governors • Terry Phillips, Prince George, Regions 5 & 6 (Zones 7 & 8)

Recognition of Retiring Board members

• Morgan Lypka, Kimberley, Region 1 &2 (Zone 1)

Curl BC AGM 2021

Teri P.

Teri P.

Teri P.