Our House is Your House

Team Konyer and Team Sutton win 2019 Club Challenge

Team Konyer and Team Sutton were crowned champions of BC at a special anniversary event in Abbotsford at the weekend.

Team Konyer, a women’s team from Nanaimo Curling Centre, and Team Sutton, a men’s team from Royal City Curling Club, were named 2019 BC Club Challenge winners. The event ran at Abbotsford Curling Club from March 21 to 24 and featured 12 men’s teams and 12 women’s teams.

The Club Challenge was previously combined with the Pacific International Cup (PIC) in Richmond, but this year it was run separately. It is the 20th anniversary of the event in BC.

Team Sutton, featuring Will Sutton, Cody Johnston, Bruce Currie and Christopher Summers, were declared champions after a close game with Team Klitch from Delta Thistle Curling Club. The game ended 6-5 for Team Sutton after an extra end.

Team Klitch, along with bronze medallists, Team Frycz, from Langley Curling Centre, have been offered a spot in the PIC.

Team Konyer, with Mary Ellen Konyer, Sharon Wright, Karen Hungar and Kellie Rice, finished top of their pool in the women’s championship.

They were able to take a commanding lead in the final game against Team Morrissey and never trailed, with the game ending 8-3.

Team Morrissey, from Comox Valley Curling Club, along with the bronze medallists, Team Jones, from Invermere & District Curling Centre, have also been offered a spot in the PIC.

The PIC will take place April 17 to 21, 2019, at Richmond Curling Centre, and will see the teams compete against curlers from the US and around the world. If these teams opt out of participating in the PIC, the opportunity will be offered to the next best BC Club Challenge finisher.

BC joined several provinces this season in piloting an open registration format for this year’s Club Challenge, meaning that any number of teams from a club could enter their respective regional event provided that they met the eligibility requirements.

Rosters and scores can be seen at http://playdowns.curlbc.ca. The clubs represented in the Club Challenge were Vernon, Invermere, Abbotsford, McArthur Curling Club (Kamloops), Golden Ears (Maple Ridge), Nanaimo, Peace Arch (White Rock), Nelson, Marpole (Vancouver), Langley, Duncan, Winfield, Comox, Richmond, Royal City (New Westminster), Delta Thistle, Powell River, Victoria and Kamloops.

Team Konyer and Team Sutton will also have the opportunity to compete at a national event but the details of that event, taking place in November, have not been released.

  • RSS
  • Newsletter
  • Facebook
  • Forum
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
Skip to toolbar