Our House is Your House

Team Jenkins takes bronze at Canadian Senior Championships

Olympian Sandra Jenkins has added another medal to her trophy cabinet after winning bronze at the 2015 Canadian Senior Curling Championships.

Jenkins, and her team of third Kate Horne, second Wendy Cseke and lead Carol Murray, claimed the bronze medal by stealing a single in the final end of their 7-6 victory against Saskatchewan on Saturday.

The Salmon Arm rink won the game after bouncing back from an extra end defeat to six-time Scotties champion Colleen Jones in the 2v3 game.

Speaking after the Championships, Jenkins said: “I am very happy with our performance at the event. We started a little slow with the difficult ice conditions and definitely became more comfortable as the week went on.

“It was very disappointing to lose the semi final as it was within reach. But we were determined to go home with a medal. We quickly regrouped with our awesome coach Daryl Horne and he got us in the right state of mind for the bronze medal game.”

Jenkins had beaten Jones earlier in the week but could not repeat the feat as a seventh end steal by the Nova Scotians helped them secure a 5-4 win, and a place in the final.

After conceding the first two games of their national campaign, the BC women had a strong run of five wins which saw them progress to the Championship pool and hand the previously unbeaten Saskatchewan their first defeat.

Team Jenkins’s final Championship pool game was against Northern Ontario who they were tied with. It was a crucial game with a place in the playoffs the prize for whoever won. The BC women triumphed and, due to results in other games, were seeded second for the knock-out stages where they lost to Jones.

In the Men’s event, BC’s Team Craig made the Championship pool but was unable to progress to the playoffs.

The Victoria team of skip Wes Craig, third Scott MacDonald, second Tony Anslow and lead Lindsay Cheetham, secured wins over PEI, Nunavut, Newfoundland and Labrador and Saskatchewan during the competition.

The women’s event was won by Alberta’s Team Loblaw and the Men’s title was taken by Manitoba’s Team Neufeld.

  • RSS
  • Newsletter
  • Facebook
  • Forum
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
Skip to toolbar