Our House is Your House

Quesnel 2019 Day 5 Highlights: Cotter and Montgomery to meet in men’s final, Wark and Brown in women’s final

The line-ups for the finals of the 2019 BC Men’s and Women’s Curling Championships were determined after a busy Saturday at the West Fraser Centre in Quesnel.

Vernon and Kelowna’s Team Cotter secured their spot in the final in the men’s 1-2 page playoff game, making 2019 the sixth year in a row that skip Jim Cotter, second Tyrel Griffith and lead Rick Sawatsky have made an appearance in the BC Men’s final. This year they are joined by Steve Laycock at third and will be looking to get their fifth win in six years. To get to this game, Team Cotter beat Victoria’s team of Jason Montgomery, Cameron de Jong, Miles Craig and Will Duggan by a score of 9-3.

The first team to claim a chance at playing for the BC Women’s title was Abbotsford’s Team Wark, who beat Kamloops’ Team Brown for a second time this week in the women’s 1-2 page playoff game. While Corryn Brown’s team of Erin Pincott, Dezaray Hawes and Ashley Klymchuk led 6-5 after seven ends, Sarah Wark’s team of Kristen Pilote, Carley Sandwith, Michelle Dunn, and fifth Jen Rusnell tied the game in the ninth end and scored two in the tenth to win 8-6.

Approximately 600 people piled into the West Fraser Centre for the next draw of the day, which featured the men’s and women’s 3-4 page playoffs games. Men’s C qualifiers Team Wenzek and Team Barry met to determine who would go on to the men’s semifinal and, like the women’s 1-2 game earlier in the day, the game was tied after six ends.

While the Royal City, Kamloops and Langley team of Daniel Wenzek, Jared Kolomaya, Jordan Tardi and Nicholas Meister took the lead in the seventh end, the Golden Ears team of Josh Barry, Sebastien Robillard, Jay Wakefield and John Cullen scored two points in both the eighth and ninth ends to win 8-5.

At the same time, Vancouver’s Team Hudyma and Kelowna, Victoria and Prince George’s Team Richards met for a second time in a row, having finished the round robin the night before with a game requiring an extra end and resulting in a 7-6 win for Team Hudyma. This time however, Brette Richards’ team of Blaine de Jager, Stephanie Jackson-Baier and Heather Tyre came out on top with an 8-5 win.

The final draw of the day determined the teams that would meet Team Cotter and Team Wark in their respective finals. Team Barry met Team Montgomery for the first time this week in the men’s semifinal, with Team Montgomery successfully advancing to the final in their second attempt with an 11-5 win. Meanwhile, Team Richards faced Team Brown in a rematch of both teams’ first game of the event, with Team Brown winning 6-4.

The final of the 2019 BC Men’s Curling Championship, presented by Barkerville Historic Town & Park and Nufloors, will take place on Sunday at 10:00am PT and feature Team Cotter versus Team Montgomery.

The final of the 2019 Scotties BC Women’s Curling Championship, presented by Best Western and Nufloors, will take place on Sunday at 2:00pm PT and feature Team Wark versus Team Brown.

Both finals will be broadcast on Shaw Spotlight and livestreamed on cbcsports.ca.

Live scores and schedules are available at playdowns.curlbc.ca. More information on television coverage, ticket prices, rosters and more, can be found at quesnel2019.curlbc.ca.

  • RSS
  • Newsletter
  • Facebook
  • Forum
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
Skip to toolbar