Our House is Your House

Former champions regain their BC Masters titles

The 2015 BC Masters Curling Championship titles were won by two past champions as experience proved to be the key to success.

Ralph Will, the defending champion, once again led his team to victory as they took gold in the Men’s event. On the Women’s side it was Karen Lepine, the winning skip in 2013, who topped the podium at Nanaimo Curling Club.

Team Will, who curls out of Cranbrook, secured their second provincial crown by defeating Team Marshall 7-5. The team, of skip Ralph (lead rocks), throwing fourth Gerald Kent, third rocks Peter Sweetman and second rocks Laddie Pavlis, had a strong week building a 7-1 record in the Championship.

Chilliwack skip Doug Marshall, and his team of third Russ Knutson, second Vic Miller and lead Howard Grisack, put up a stern fight but a three-ender in the seventh by Team Will was enough to secure the title.

Team Lepine, who plays out of Langley and Cloverdale, were decisive in their 11-3 victory against Team Gallaway. The rink, which consists of skip Karen Lepine, third Susan Beuk, second Agnes Sigurdson and lead Donna Christian, won the game with a draw for two in the seventh end.

Comox Valley skip Sandra Gallaway, and her team of third Mary Holden, second Mary Ellen Werner and lead Elaine Starchuk, had beaten Lepine in the round robin stages earlier in the week but were unable to repeat the feat in the final.

The bronze medals were won by Team Watson, who plays out of Vancouver Curling Club, and Royal City’s Team Smiley.

The two gold medal winning teams will now travel to Whitehorse in Yukon to represent BC in the Canadian Masters Curling from March 29 – April 5. You can keep up-to-date with all the news from the Canadian Championships on the event website. 

You can read all of the results at www.playdowns.com/curlbc.

  • RSS
  • Newsletter
  • Facebook
  • Forum
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
Skip to toolbar