Our House is Your House

First teams qualify for 2017 BC Senior Curling Championships

Salmon Arm will be playing host to the province’s best senior curlers from February 20-26 when the 2017 BC Senior Curling Championships roll into town.

Sixteen teams from across the province will be vying for the opportunity to represent BC at the 2017 Canadian Senior Curling Championships from March 20-25 in Fredericton, New Brunswick.

Senior Women’s Lower Mainland playdowns took place at Peace Arch Curling Centre in Surrey this weekend (Jan 6-8) in order to decide which Senior Women’s teams will be competing at provincials.

The remaining berths will be decided at playdowns across BC, including the Senior Men’s Lower Mainland playdowns at Tunnel Town, Tsawwassen, and the regional playdowns for both genders in Invermere, Kelowna, Quesnel and Nanaimo.

The four Lower Mainland teams who qualified are Team Richter, Team Cowan, Team Deputan and Team Lepine.

The Richter team, which won the A Event, has players representing Penticton, Vancouver, Kamloops, Royal City and Cloverdale curling clubs. It features Marilou Richter, Debbie Jones-Walker, Leanne Andrews, Pam Cuthbert and Brenda Garvey. Richter achieved a silver medal at provincials last year.

The Langley team of Sheila Cowan features third Donna Langlands, second Crystal Murray and lead Donna Maitland.

Skip Lisa Deputan is at the helm of a Chilliwack team featuring third Kerri Miller, second Jane Adam and lead Laurie Shimizu. The team is coached by Vic Shimizu.
The Langley/Cloverdale rink of Karen Lepine, with third Susan Beu, second Claire Morrison and lead Karen Van Os. Lepine skipped a team which won gold nationally in the 2014-15 season.

To follow the scores, and to see the teams taking part in the upcoming playdowns please visit http://playdowns.curlbc.ca.

  • RSS
  • Newsletter
  • Facebook
  • Forum
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
Skip to toolbar