Our House is Your House

Curling recognized in multiple Sport BC Awards categories

Curl BC is excited to announce that our athletes are being recognized by the wider sport community at a prestigious awards ceremony.

Sport BC, on behalf of the BC Sport community, has proudly announced the outstanding amateur athletes, coaches, and officials, named as finalists for 14 of the 18 award categories to be presented at the upcoming Athlete of the Year Awards.

Canadian junior champion Tyler Tardi has been named as a finalist in the Junior Male Athlete of the Year Award. His team from the 2017 season, featuring third Sterling Middleton, second Jordan Tardi and lead Nicholas Meister has also been named a finalist in the Team of the Year category. Additionally, a coach from the Kootenays is being recognized. Carmen Murray from Elkford Curling Centre is one of three finalists in the Female Coach of the Year category.

Curl BC chair Paul Addison is also being recognized with a Sport BC President’s Award.

The Athlete of the Year Awards are the longest standing sport recognition event in Canada.

The 52nd Annual Awards Ceremony and Gala dinner is set for Wednesday, March 28, 2018, at the Westin Bayshore Vancouver Hotel. The ceremonies will recognize BC’s best in amateur sport including athletes, coaches, and officials for outstanding performances in their sport over the 2017 season.

Each finalist was nominated by their Provincial or Multi-Sport Organization, High School, College or University. The Selection Committee, chaired by Bernie Pascall, included 16 highly regarded sportswriters, broadcasters, and amateur sport leaders in British Columbia.

“Each year the Athlete of the Year Awards selection committee reviews all nominations and recognizes the talented and deserving athletes, coaches and officials”, notes President & CEO of Sport BC, Rob Newman. “The nominees for the 2018 Sport BC Athlete of the Year Awards represent 23 sports and 29 various cities who are all representative of the strength and depth of sport development in our province over the last 52 years. Each year, we are grateful for the support and contribution of our sport and business partners and volunteers.”

  • RSS
  • Newsletter
  • Facebook
  • Forum
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
Skip to toolbar