Our House is Your House

2019 BC Senior Championships start tomorrow in Trail

The BC Senior Curling Championship title is especially appealing this season as, with the 2019 Everest Canadian Senior Curling Championships taking place in British Columbia,  it means an opportunity to represent the province in front of a home crowd.

The senior men’s and senior women’s teams that will go on to represent BC at the Canadian event taking place in the brand new Chilliwack Curling Club facility from March 22 to 28 will be determined this week, as Trail Curling Association hosts the 2019 BC Senior Curling Championships.

Eight senior men’s teams and eight senior women’s teams from around BC will be competing in Trail. Among the senior women’s athletes are 2016 BC Senior Women’s champion Cindy Curtain (playing on Team Richter) and 2015 Canadian Senior Women’s bronze medallist Wendy Cseke (playing on Team Anderson).

There are also many notable names on the senior men’s side, with teams led by skips such as three-time BC Senior Men’s and three-time BC Mixed champion Wes Craig, three-time BC Senior Men’s, three-time BC Mixed and 2018 BC Masters champion Craig Lepine, and three-time BC Men’s and former BC Mixed and Masters champion Rob Koffski.

Last season the senior men’s competition was won by Craig Lepine’s team of Stan Walker, Craig McLeod, and Mike Pelech, and the senior women’s competition was won by Lynne Noble’s team of Penny Shantz, Colleen Robson and Karen Lepine.

The first draw of the 2019 competition takes place on February 19 at 7:00pm PT. The round robin will continue through Friday, with any necessary tiebreakers and the semifinals taking place on February 23. Both finals will take place on February 24 at 11:00am PT.

Live scores, schedules, rosters and standings from the 2019 BC Senior Curling Championships are available at playdowns.curlbc.ca.

  • RSS
  • Newsletter
  • Facebook
  • Forum
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
Skip to toolbar