Our House is Your House

Archives for March 2015

2015 BC Masters Curling Championships begin today

The 2015 BC Masters Curling Championships in Nanaimo begins today in Nanaimo, with curlers from as far afield as Cranbrook, Prince George and Comox Valley taking part.

Eight men’s and eight women’s teams will battle for gold in this 60+ competition which runs from today until March 8 at Nanaimo Curling Club. Visit http://playdowns.com/curlbc for information about the event and the results as they come in.

Both of the 2014 champions, Ralph Will and Lorraine Jeffries, will be returning to defend their titles alongside teams from across the province.

Joining Cranbrook’s Team Will in the Men’s event there are teams from Kamloops, Prince George, Esquimalt, Qualicum, Chilliwack, Langley and Vancouver.

On the women’s side, Jeffries will be representing Port Alberni against teams from Quesnel, Blind Bay, Port Alberni, the Comox Valley, Langley, New Westminster, Chilliwack and Marpole.

Marg Obee, Co-Chair of the organising committee, said: We are thrilled to be hosting the 2015 BC Masters Curling Championships in Nanaimo and we hope that all of the curlers enjoy their time here. I am certain that we will see some high-quality curling at the Championships and entry is free so that it will be an excellent event for spectators to enjoy.”

Opening ceremonies take place at 1:30pm on March 3, with the first draw beginning at 2:30pm.

The finals will be played on Sunday, March 8.

Field is set for 2015 AMJ Campbell BC Mixed Championship

The final line-up for the 2015 AMJ Campbell Van Lines BC Mixed Championship has been confirmed and it contains several familiar faces.

Silver medallists from the BC Men’s, Women’s, Senior Men’s and Junior Men’s Championships will all be hoping to go one better and take gold when they compete at the final provincial event of the season.

The eight-team field for the event, which will take place in Kelowna from March 19 – 22, was decided after a weekend of playdowns across BC.

Dean Joanisse, who was runner-up at the 2015 Canadian Direct Insurance BC Men’s Championship, will skip a team which includes two other provincial medallists. Joanisse won the A-event at the lower mainland playdowns alongside third Shannon Aleksic and second Tyler Orme, who both took bronze in this year’s provincials, and lead Kelsey Steiger.

Joanisse will be joined at the Championship by fellow BC Men’s silver medallist Paul Cseke whose team won the B-event. The rink consists of skip Cseke, third Kristen Recksiedler who was a 2015 BC Scotties bronze medallist, second Will Sutton and lead Trysta Vandale.

The two lower mainland C-event qualifiers are also skipped by provincial runners-up. BC Senior Men’s silver medallist Mike Freeman will head-up a team of third Kim McLandress, second Bill Dalzell and lead Victoria Murphy. They will be joined at the 2015 AMJ Campbell BC Mixed Championship by Cody Tanaka, the BC Junior Men’s runner-up, and his team of third Katie Sim, second Brian Cole and lead Chantel Kosmynka.

The 2015 BC Scotties silver medallist and two-time BC Mixed champion Sarah Wark will skip a team at the event. She and her team of third Miles Craig, second Carley St Blaze and lead Cameron de Jong qualified after winning the Island playdown.

The winner of the Kootenay playdown was the three-time BC Mixed champions Team Buchy. The team of skip Tom Buchy, third Lori Buchy, second Dave Toffolo and lead Robyn Toffolo curl out of Kimberley Curling Club.

The final two rinks in the field will be Team Douglas and Team Groundwater who both qualified automatically. Team Douglas is skipped by Ron Douglas, with Alyssa Kyllo at third, John Slattery at second and Kim Slattery as lead and they curl out of Kamloops Curling Club. Team Groundwater, who is from Williams Lake Curling Club, consists of skip Simone Groundwater, third Ryan Bailey, second Laura Ball and lead Robert Gudbranson.

The 2015 AMJ Campbell BC Mixed Championship will be held at Kelowna Curling Club from March 19-22. The winners of the event will go on to represent BC at the Canadian Championship which takes place later this year.

  • RSS
  • Newsletter
  • Facebook
  • Forum
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
Skip to toolbar