Our House is Your House

Archives for February 2011

Noble & McAulay win 2011 BC senior curling titles

Qualicum’s Lynne Noble, Lorraine Jeffries, Lorraine Gagnon and Kristen Nickells, and Richmond’s Greg McAulay, Ken Watson, Dale Hockley and Dale Reibin are the 2011 BC Senior Curling Champions. Noble & McAulay were both victorious in Saturday’s finals at the 2011 Tim Hortons BC Senior Curling Championships presented by Flight Centre in Kamloops.

Both Noble (5-2) & McAulay (6-1) finished in ties for first place in their events. Noble’s round-robin win over Kerry Park’s Christine Jurgenson (5-2) earned her a direct berth into Saturday’s, while McAulay’s round-robin loss to Kelowna’s Gary Gelowitz (6-1) dropped him back into the semi-final.

McAulay defeated Trail’s Rob Ferguson rink in the semi by a convincing score of 12-5, and scored 4 in the eighth end of the final game against Gelowitz to seal the win by a final score of 8-3. [Read more…]

Team Saskatchewan wins 2011 Scotties

Team Saskatchewan is the new 2011 Team Canada with an exciting come from behind win against Jennifer Jones who was poised to win her fourth consecutive Canadian Women’s Championship, tying the legendary Colleen Jones record. This is the first time that Saskatchewan has won the title since Sandra Schmirler.

Skip Amber Holland was fittingly declared winner of the Sandra Schmirler MVP Award during the closing ceremonies at the Scotties Tournament of Hearts in Charlottetown. The Award is named in honour of the late Saskatchewan skip who won three Canadian and World titles and the Gold medal at the 1998 Winter Olympics. It recognizes outstanding play during the playoffs at the Scotties. [Read more…]

Noble & Gelowitz advance to BC senior curling finals

Qualicum’s Lynne Noble and Kelowna’s Gary Gelowitz have both secured themselves spots in Saturday’s finals at the 2011 Tim Hortons BC Senior Curling Championships presented by Flight Centre.

Noble and her team of Lorraine Jeffries, Lorraine Gagnon and Kristen Nickells defeated defending BC & national champion Christine Jurgenson by a score of 7-2, in the last round-robin game to finish in top spot at 5-2. Jurgenson also finished at 5-2, but due to the loss against Noble, will have to survive the semi-final tomorrow morning.

Salmon Arm’s Wendy Cseke, Vernon’s Sherry Heath and Vancouver’s Karen Miller finished in a tie for 3rd spot after the round-robin. Cseke & Miller face off in the first of two tie-breakers, with the winner playing Heath tonight at 7pm for the final playoff spot.

On the men’s side, Gelowitz and his team of Rob Koffski, Brent Giles and Larry Kozachenko finished the round-robin at 6-1. Richmond’s Greg McAulay also finished at 6-1, but awaits the winner of a single tie-breaker between Trail’s Rob Ferguson and Campbell River’s Dean Thulin, for a semi-final match-up. Both Ferguson and Thulin finished with 4-3 records. [Read more…]

BC teams in the hunt at national & international championships

Victoria’s Daniel Wenzek’s team of Nolan Reid, Max Langlais and Calvin Heels are at 2-2 in their pool at the Canada Winter Games. They play Manitoba later today in their last game. A victory will gaurantee them at least a tie-breaker.
Click here to follow their results.

Kelowna’s Kelly Scott, Jeanna Schraeder, Sasha Carter, Jacquie Armstrong and Shannon Aleksic stole the win against New Brunswick in this afternoon’s draw at the Scotties. They currently sit in a 3-way tie for the fourth and final playoff spot. They play Saskatchewan in tonight’s last round-robin game.
Click here to follow their results.

Jim Armstrong, Darryl Neighbour, Ina Forrest, Sonja Gaudet and Bruno Yizek are tied with Norway for first place at 5-0 as Team Canada at the 2011 World Wheelchair Curling Championship. They have four more round-robin games to play.
Click here to follow their results.

Brier-bound Kevin Folk loses curling equipment

Kevin Folk’s curling equipment was stolen out of his car earlier this week. Folk is calling out to anyone who may have information that can assist in the relocation of his shoes, before he leaves next week to compete with the Jim Cotter rink at the Brier.

Please click here to view a YouTube video for more information.

Rockslide Curling Camp for ages 10-18yrs

Curl BC is pleased to announce that it will be hosting the first ever Rockslide Curling Camp this summer. [Read more…]

Canada unbeaten after day 1 at the 2011 World Wheelchair Curling Championship

Jim Armstrong, Darryl Neighbour, Ina Forrest, Sonja Gaudet and Bruno Yizek are 2-0 as Team Canada, after the first day of competition at 2011 World Wheelchair Curling Championship.

Click here for a recap of day 1 and click here for the event website.

Tim Hortons BC Senior Curling Championships begin tomorrow

The 2011 Tim Hortons BC Senior Curling Championships presented by Flight Centre begin tomorrow at the Kamloops Curling Centre. Eight senior men’s and eight senior women’s teams will compete in an 8-team round-robin followed by a 3-team playoff.

Winners advance to the 2011 Canadian Senior Curling Championships in Digby, Nova Scotia, March 19-26, 2011. [Read more…]

2010 BC Paralympians receive day named in their honour

VICTORIA – The provincial government has proclaimed Feb. 16, 2011 as “Maëlle Ricker Day” to begin a program that will recognize British Columbia’s medal-winning athletes from the 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games, announced Colin Hansen, Deputy Premier and Minister of Finance, today.

“Our Olympians and Paralympians have left us with lifelong memories and helped to inspire our youth to pursue their dreams,” said Hansen. “Proclaiming days to recognize their achievements is just one way we can show our appreciation for the contributions they have made to British Columbia.”

“These Olympic and Paralympic athletes have made special contributions to our province and country by helping to bring us together as British Columbians and Canadians,” said the Honourable Steven L. Point, Lieutenant Governor of B.C. “It is fitting that we recognize them on the one-year anniversary of their medal-winning performances.”

The Province will proclaim recognition days for every British Columbia athlete who won a medal during the 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Games. Athletes will be recognized on the one-year anniversary of their medal-winning performance. Athletes who won multiple medals will receive a day proclaimed in their honour on the one-year anniversary of their first medal victory and acknowledgement of their additional medal victories. [Read more…]

Brown wins Canada Winter Games curling gold

Kamloops’ Corryn Brown, Erin Pincott, Samantha Fisher and Sydney Fraser defeated Alberta by a score of 3-1 in Friday’s Canada Winter Games gold medal curling game.

Brown finished second in her pool with wins over Northwest Territories (6-2), Saskatchewan (6-5), Manitoba (6-4), New Brunswick (6-4) and a single loss to Nova Scotia (5-4). She defeated Ontario by a score of 4-1 in the semi-final and capped off the week with a low scoring 3-1 decision over Alberta in the final.

Brown and company (all 15 years of age) also won silver at the 2011 Tim Hortons BC Junior Curling Championships (under 21 event) in late December at the North Shore Winter Club.

Daniel Wenzek and his Victoria team will compete in the boys’ competition this week.

In other curling action this weekend, the field has been set for the 2011 Williams Moving & Storage BC Mixed Curling Championship in Prince Rupert, March 15-20. The competing teams are: [Read more…]

  • RSS
  • Newsletter
  • Facebook
  • Forum
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
Skip to toolbar