Our House is Your House

Archives for June 2010

Summer Workshops now online

View our registration calendar

Cowichan Rocks awarded 2011 BC Juvenile Curling Championships

Curl BC is pleased to announce that the 2011 BC Juvenile Boy’s & Girl’s Curling Championships have been awarded to the Cowichan Rocks Curling Club in Lake Cowichan. This event will run from March 3-6, 2011.

The top eight juvenile boy’s and girl’s teams in BC will battle for these provincial titles. The BC Championships will be divided into two pools of four teams, with the top two teams in each advancing to playoffs.

The Cowichan Lake Regional Curling Club opened its doors in 1970, and most recently this four sheet facility has been known as Cowichan Rocks. The club has hosted past events such as the 2003 International Tankard, 2005 BC Sr. Games, and the 2007 BC Juvenile Curling Championships.

Abbotsford to host the 2012 Canadian Senior Championships

The 2012 Canadian Seniors will be played at the Abbotsford Recreation Centre in Abbotsford, British Columbia, March 17-24. Soren Jensen is the host committee chair.

Twelve men’s and 12 women’s team compete in a round robin format, with three teams advancing to the playoffs. The winners will represent Canada at the 2013 World Seniors.

Click here to view other future host sites.

Curl BC volunteer positions announced for 2010/11

Congratulations to the following volunteers who have been selected for their respective positions for the 2010/11 season.

Provincial Officiating Coordinator: Dianne Barker
Provincial Ice Technician: BJ Gagnon
Coach Development Manager: Karen Watson
Head Statisticians: Mike West & Norm Allen
Stick Curling Coordinator: Bill Taylor

Elaine Dagg-Jackson wins 2009 CABC International Coach of the Year Award

Congratulations to Elaine Dagg-Jackson who recently won the 2009 Coaching Association of British Columbia International Coach of the Year Award.

The Coach of the Year Awards are presented by CABC in conjunction with the Bob Bearpark Coaching Bursary Fund. The recipients of these awards have demonstrated a dedication to developing and advancing great athletes and great people.

North Shore Winter Club to host 2011 BC Junior Curling Championships

Curl BC is pleased to announce that the 2011 BC Junior Men’s & Women’s Curling Championships have been awarded to the North Shore Winter Club in North Vancouver. This event will run from December 27-31, 2010.

The top eight junior men’s and women’s teams in BC will battle for the titles and berths into the M&M Meat Shops Canadian Junior Curling Championships in Calgary, AB, January 29 – February 5, 2011. The BC Championships will begin with full event round-robins followed by three-team playoffs. [Read more…]

2010/2011 Curl BC Executive

Elections for the 2010/2011 Curl BC Executive were held this past Saturday at the Curl BC Annual General Meeting in Richmond.

Jim Mann was re-elected as President, as was Mike West in the Vice-President position. Marnie Jepsen moved from her position as Treasurer to the other Vice-President position.

The Secretary & Treasurer positions were removed from the Executive body this year, following Curl BC’s move to a new governance model.

Many thanks to former Vice-President, Nigel Easton and former Secretary, Jan Mori for their hard work in these positions.  [Read more…]

New BC Men’s & Women’s Curling Championships playdown structure

Curl BC is pleased to announce that the BC Men’s & Women’s Curling Championships will have a new playdown structure for the 2010/2011 season on a two-year trial basis.

This change comes after a 10 month review of the playdown structure by Curl BC’s Performance Committee. The process included researching other provincial structures, surveying Curl BC member facilities and curlers and analyzing the current system.

The formats of the 2011 Canadian Direct Insurance BC Men’s and the 2011 Scotties Tournament of Hearts Women’s Curling Championships will remain the same, however, the routes to qualify for these events will differ from previous years. [Read more…]

Optimist Junior Interclub Curling League is now accepting applications to Highpoint Division 1 for the 2010 – 2011 season

Optimist Junior Interclub Curling League is now accepting applications to Highpoint Division 1 for the 2010 – 2011 season. The 2010-2011 OJI Highpoint Application package is attached.

To Apply:

1. Download the document by clicking here. 
2. Print out the Player Score Sheets (page 7), Achievements Sheet (page 8) and Entry Form (page 5)
3. Complete each sheet with all of the required information printed clearly with dark ink
4. Scan & email to akersey@telus.net or Fax to 604-533-2820

 Mail Originals with Sponsor Club Jr Coordinator Signature to:

Optimist Junior Interclub Curling League
#328 – 19528 Fraser Hwy
Surrey, BC V3S 8P4

 Application Deadline is Sunday, August 15

Win $25,000 for your curling club

Kraft & TSN want to pur your community on the map! Nominate your community for a chance to win 1 of 10 $25,000 community refreshes and a live SportsCentre braodcast from  your town.

Click here to nominate your town

  • RSS
  • Newsletter
  • Facebook
  • Forum
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
Skip to toolbar