Our House is Your House

Archives for March 2010

Zbeetnoff wins Region 11 Tour Championship

The Darrell Zbeetnoff team (third Ed Jaehrlich, second Ross Scott, lead Gary McLaughlin) from Peace Arch CC has finished the season with two strong performances, winning the last tour event at their home club, then winning the tour championship final Sunday at Golden Ears Winter Club. Zbeetnoff defeated the Mark Gilchrist team (third Darren Frycz, second Don O’Byrne, lead Al MacKinnon) from Langley 6-5 in the championship final, making up for their loss in the final last year to Royal City’s Clem Degobbi. [Read more…]

Jurgenson wins 2010 Canadian Senior Women’s Curling Championship

Richmond, BC (March 29, 2010) – Christine Jurgenson and her Juan de Fuca Curling Club team of Cheryl Noble, Pat Sanders and Roselyn Craig now have two Canadian Senior Women’s Championship titles to their names.

Jurgenson received a bye to Sunday’s final after finishing the round-robin in first place at 9-2. [Read more…]

BC senior women win national title!

Congratulations to Christine Jurgenson, Cheryl Noble, Pat Sanders and Roselyn Craig for winning the 2010 Canadian Senior Curling Championship! Jurgenson scored 5 points in the 9th end to enter the last end of play up by a score of 10-6 over New Brunswick’s Heidi Hanlon.

BC senior women wait for opponent in national final

The 2010 BC Senior Women’s team of Christine Jurgenson, Cheryl Noble, Pat Sanders and Roselyn Craig are waiting to see who they will play in tomorrow’s national final at the Canadian Senior Curling Championship.

Jurgenson and company finished alone in first place at the end of round-robin play with a 9-2 record. This first place finish earned them a direct spot into the championship final to be played tomorrow at 10:30am PST. BC will play the winner of today’s semi-final between Northern Ontario and New Brunswick.

The BC Senior Men’s team of Wes Craig, Phil Olson, Tony Anslow and Blair Cusack finished their championship in seventh place with a record of 5-6.

BC Senior Women lead national championship

The BC Senior Women’s team of Christine Jurgenson, Cheryl Noble, Pat Sanders and Roselyn Craig are alone in first place at the 2010 Canadian Senior Women’s Curling Championship. Jurgenson and company stand at 7-2 with Northern Ontario, New Brunswick and Saskatchewan tied for second at 6-3.

On the men’s side, the Wes Craig rink is tied for 7th place at 4-5.

Follow our BC teams at the 2010 Canadian Senior Championship website.

Party at the Cloverdale Curling Club

The Cloverdale Curling Club is having a party! 

Doors open at 3 pm on Sunday, March 28th. There will be a no host bar and the Ford World Womens final begins at 4 on the big screen.

The Optimists Curl BC Youth Curling Development Fundraiser raffle tickets will be drawn after 4 pm. $5,000 first prize, three $1,000 prizes and five $500 prizes with only 1,600 tickets being sold.

Great cause, awesome prizes and terrific odds.

Advertise in the 2010/2011 Yearbook

As one season comes to an end, the other is just beginning.

Curl BC has now begun work on the 2010/2011 yearbook. If your club, association or company is interested in advertising in this popular Curl BC publication, we’d love to hear from you.

Yearbook material and payment is due June 1st.  If you are a member of a Curl  BC affiliated club and would like to advertise your commercial company in the yearbook, please speak with Robbie Gallaugher about taking advantage of our member rates.

Please view the following documents for more details.

2010/2011 Yearbook Advertising Sheet for Members

2010/2011 Commercial Advertising Rates for Curl BC Yearbook

2010 BC Mixed & Stick champions declared

Richmond, BC (March 22, 2010) – The 2010 BC Open Stick Curling Championship was held in Armstrong from March 12-14, hosting twenty-four two-person teams. This was only the second BC stick championship but definitely won’t be the last. Popularity is on the rise in this category with the number of participants tripling from last year’s championship held in Maple Ridge.

It was a repeat win for the 2009 champs of Tim Smith and John Campbell who represented the host club. [Read more…]

Gold for BC wheelchair curlers

Richmond, BC (March 22, 2010) – As with all of Canada’s curling teams, they would have been disappointed with anything less than gold. The 2010 Canadian Paralympic curling team comprised of BC’s Jim Armstrong, Darryl Neighbour, Ina Forrest, Sonja Gaudet, coach Joe Rea and Calgary’s Bruno Yizek, made Canada proud on Saturday by capturing 1 of 10 Canadian Paralympic gold medals. [Read more…]

BC Paralympians advance to playoffs

Congratulations to Jim Armstrong, Darryl Neighbour, Ina Forrest and Sonja Gaudet for finishing in first place after round-robin play at the 2010 Paralympics. They now advance to the playoff round today. Good luck Team Canada!

Click here for the full story.

  • RSS
  • Newsletter
  • Facebook
  • Forum
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
Skip to toolbar