Our House is Your House

Archives for April 2008

BC rink bound for World Seniors in New Zealand

Pat Sanders and her Canadian champion teammates will be headed to Dunedin, NZ, for the World Seniors next spring. [Read more…]

We’ve Moved

3820 Cessna Drive, Suite 293, Richmond, BC V7B 0A2

Feel the Rush

Feel the Rush celebrates Paralympic sport to inspire all Canadians with a physical disability to ‘feel the rush‘ of confidence and empowerment that comes with enjoying sport at all levels.

Feel the Rush – Promotional Video

Canadian Paralympic Committee – Wheelchair Curling

April Curling Connection

To read the latest Curling Connection email newletter from Curl BC, click here.

Advertise in Curl BC 2008/09 Yearbook

There are 10,000 yearbooks printed that are distributed free of charge to curlers via 93 affiliated curling clubs across the province. The yearbook is the curlers bible which includes all playdown, Provincial Championship and National Championship dates and locations, rules, historical information, Canadian Curling Association Rules for General Play, over 400 bonspiel dates and locations, a club directory and much more.

Curl BC Yearbook 2008-09 commercial rates



Congratulations to our Bear Mountain Curling Classic Participants from Kerry Park

An incredible run back take-out was made by Michael Heywood (third), followed by a paper thin come-around draw by Connar Croteau (skip) creating the second steal of an end and clinched the win and third place. 

Flag bearers: Mathew MacDonald, Nigel Trenaman, Timothy Henderson, Desman Perry and Tony Foster; to our scorekeepers: Tony Foster, Toby Owen, Philip McLachlan, Justin Matthews, Forrest Trenaman, Joey Vaesen, Paul Henderson, Connar Croteau; and to our players (who won third place, winning over the Van Osch 2007 Juvenile Champions)  Connar Croteau, Michael Heywood, Paul Henderson, Joey Vaesen, Matthew Heywood. An incredible run back take-out was made by Michael Heywood (third), followed by a paper thin come-around draw by Connar Croteau (skip) creating the second steal of an end and clinched the win and third place. The team agreed that communication was the key to their success!!!! 

Top 4 teams that played at Bear Mountain 

First- Hozack Rink – Victoria
Second – Debeeld Rink – Nanaimo
Third – Croteau Rink – Kerry Park
Fourth – Van Osch – Nanaimo

(These were the top 4 teams out of the 17 top teams that competed for the right to play at the Bear Mountain Curling Classic)


2008 Wayden Transportation Women’s Grand Slam

One of the Biggest Events on the Women’s Grand Slam Curling Tour!
November 14 – 17, 2008 

TOTAL PURSE: $60,000
1ST PLACE: $16,000 2ND PLACE: $12,000
Entry Fee: $1100.00 (includes WCT Fees)
(Deposit of $550.00 confirmed by credit card required to secure your entry)
Limited to 32 Teams
Download entry form 

Final Payment/Entry Deadline is October 15, 2008. Twenty four spots are reserved for Order of Merit/CTRS teams, to be determined on or just after June 15, 2008. All other entries are on a first come, first served basis. We will begin accepting entries by fax only to 604-854-5280 on Tuesday, April 8, 2008 at 12 Noon Pacific Time. 

This is a triple knock-out event. Curling begins on Friday morning with the championship final taking place on Monday afternoon. 

Great Ice, Great Money, Great Curling! 

Ticket Prices: $7.00/day or $21.00/event pass
65+ or -19: $5.00/day or $15.00/event pass
Children 10 and under admitted free of charge 

Abbotsford Curling Club
2555 McMillan Rd
Abbotsford BC


BC triumphs at CIBC Wood Gundy Canadian Masters

Rick Pughe and his Royal City rink of John Zwarych, Jack Finnbogason and Bob Byrne avenged two robin round losses Sunday, April 6, at the Nanaimo Curling Club, defeating Alberta 4-0 in the semi-final and Manitoba 6-3 in the final. Click here for more details.

Michael Rhode, Daily News – April 7, 2008 – Click here for an article.

Congratulations to BC’s third Canadian champion this season.

Ursel wins Bear Mountain Classic in Victoria

BC men’s champions Bob Ursel, Jim Cotter, Kevin Folk and Rick Sawatsky followed up a strong Brier finish with a big win in Victoria April 6, beating Brad Gushue in the semi-finals and then Wayne Middaugh to win the $25,000 top prize at the Bear Mountain Arena Classic.

  • RSS
  • Newsletter
  • Facebook
  • Forum
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
Skip to toolbar