Our House is Your House

Archives for September 2007

Moncton lands 2009 Ford Worlds

Moncton, New Brunswick, September 11, 2007 – The city of Moncton, New Brunswick, has been awarded the 2009 Ford world men’s curling championship, it was announced today by the World Curling Federation (WCF).

The 2009 event will be staged April 4-12 in the 7,000-seat Moncton Coliseum, which was also the site of several previous curling championships, including a memorable 1985 Labatt Brier and the 1980 Air Canada Silver Broom.

“I am very excited and pleased to formally announce that the 2009 Ford world men’s curling championship will be held here in my hometown,” said Les Harrison, President of the World Curling Federation. “It will be a very significant event, since 2009 marks the 50th anniversary of this championship. It will also be the final championship of the season for Member Associations of the WCF to gain points to qualify countries for the 2010 Vancouver Winter Olympics.

“In addition, the WCF Executive Board and Annual General Meetings will be conducted here during the week. With the Beaver, Beauséjour and MCA Curling Clubs providing the nucleus of a large volunteer cast, we look forward to a memorable competition to celebrate this special anniversary.”

Ford of Canada has been the title sponsor of the world curling championships since the first Ford Worlds in Brandon, Manitoba in 1995, when both the men’s and women’s events were held together.

“Our 14-year relationship with the Ford World Men’s Curling Championship has been a rewarding one and Ford of Canada is proud to be the title sponsor of the championship to be held in Moncton in 2009,” said David Greenberg, Vice-President, General Marketing, Ford Motor Company of Canada, Limited.

The world men’s curling championship was held for the first time in 1959 in Scotland, when the famous Ernie Richardson team from Regina represented Canada in a five-game series in Scotland against Willie Young and his reigning Scottish men’s championship team. Richardson won the first ‘Scotch Cup’, 5-0 and repeated that performance the following year. He would go on to win the 1962 and 1963 Scotch Cups as well, both in Perth, to become the only male skip to win four world titles.

“As a long-time volunteer in the great sport of curling, including being a Vice-President of the organizing committee for the very successful 1980 Silver Broom, it is very exciting for me, now as the Mayor of this city, to have this event return after all these years,” said Lorne Mitton. “I am grateful to the World Curling Federation for making Moncton its choice for 2009. Moncton is known for holding prominent sporting events, such as the 2007 Memorial Cup (Canadian Junior Hockey Championship) and the Canadian University Hockey Championships for the last two years. I know that Monctonians will do themselves proud in making this another successful event.”

Added Al Forsythe, President of the Canadian Curling Association (CCA), “First of all, I would like to thank the WCF for selecting Moncton as the site for the 50th anniversary of the men’s world curling championship. I’m sure it will be a huge success, considering the expertise, dedication and support from not only the curling community, but also from the people of the greater Moncton area. I wish the host committee great success in its preparations over the next 18 months in staging this world championship.”

This will mark the third time that New Brunswick has hosted a world curling championship. In addition to the 1980 Air Canada Silver Broom in Moncton, which was won by Canada’s Rick Folk, when his team went undefeated at 10-0, defeating Norway’s Kristian Soerum, 7-6 in the final, the 1999 Ford world men’s and women’s curling championships were hosted by Saint John. The men’s event was captured by Scotland’s Hammy McMillan, while the women’s event went to Sweden’s Elisabet Gustafson for a record fourth time.

“We are delighted that Moncton has been named to host the 2009 Ford world men’s curling championship,” said Host Committee president Jim Lockyer. “We are excited about welcoming curlers, spectators and media from around the world to what will be a very successful and important event for Moncton and all of New Brunswick. We believe it will be one of the best world curling championships ever held and will continue this community’s tradition of successfully hosting major world class events.”

Tickets are expected to go on sale in February of 2008 for the 51st edition of the men’s world curling championship, the 19th time that Canada will have staged this event.

In 2005, the men’s and women’s championships were separated for the first time since 1988. It was also decided that Canada would alternately stage a men’s and women’s championship each year. In addition, 12 countries, instead of the former 10, participated and the Page Playoff format (1 vs 2, winner to final, loser to semi-final; 3 vs 4, winner to semi-final, loser eliminated), which is used at the Canadian men’s and women’s championships, was also introduced. The loser of the semi-final was awarded the bronze medal. Beginning in 2008, though, the bronze medal game will be reintroduced, featuring the loser of the Page 3-4 game versus the semi-final loser.

Canada has won a leading 30 men’s world curling championships since 1959, including 2007 in Edmonton, when captured by Glenn Howard of Coldwater, Ontario. Sweden is next with five, followed by Scotland and the United States with four each. Edmonton also established an attendance record for a men’s only event, 184,970, in 2007.

Norway’s Eigil Ramsfjell (15) holds the men’s record for the most world curling championship appearances, 15 and the most games won by a skip (63). In addition to Ernie Richardson, Arnold and Garnet Richardson and Randy Ferbey are the only other four-time winners. Ferbey skipped Canada to victory on three occasions (2002, 2003 and 2005) and also played third for Pat Ryan in 1989.

The 2008 Ford world women’s championship is in Vernon, British Columbia, March 22-30 while the men’s world championship will be in Grand Forks, North Dakota, April 5-13.

The 2009 world women’s curling championship takes place in Gangneung, Korea.

For further information:

Warren Hansen
Manager of Event Operations and Media
Canadian Curling Association

Jeff Timson
Event Media Director
Canadian Curling Association
Tel/fax: 905-881-8322
jeff@curling.ca or jtimson5213@rogers.com www.curling.ca

  • RSS
  • Newsletter
  • Facebook
  • Forum
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
Skip to toolbar