Our House is Your House

Top men’s teams qualify for 2014 Canadian Direct Insurance BC Men’s Curling Championship

Six men’s curling teams secured berths to the 2014 Canadian Direct Insurance BC Men’s Curling Championship at regional qualifiers held over the weekend (Dec 6-8).

And a seventh team has secured a berth based on Canadian Team Ranking System (CTRS) points – Team Morris, from Vernon & Kelowna curling clubs. The team has spent the past few weeks battling for a berth to the Sochi 2014 Winter Olympics at the 2013 Capital One Road to the Roar and the 2013 Tim Hortons Roar of the Rings. After a fantastic set of results, they made it to the Roar final, but lost out to Team Brad Jacobs, from Northern Ontario.

Team Morris – with John Morris (skip), Jim Cotter (throwing fourth rocks), Tyrel Griffith (second) and Rick Sawatsky (lead) – get a berth to provincials for being the top B.C. men’s team based on CTRS ranking.

They will join Team Andrew Bilesky, from the Royal City Curling Club, who has automatic entry into the championship for winning last year’s event. The team is rounded out by Steve Kopf (third), Derek Errington (second) and Aaron Watson (lead).

The 2014 Canadian Direct Insurance BC Men’s Curling Championship will take place at the Vancouver Curling Club from February 5-9, 2014.

Six berths have gone to the winners of three regional playdowns. A further two regional playdowns will take place this weekend and a final open event will take place in January – these three events will decide the final eight berths. Playdown scores can be accessed at www.playdowns.com under the Curl BC tab.

The Prince George Golf and Curling Club will send Team Bill Cameron to provincials.  The team, with Third Cale Rusnell, Second Mike Hansen and Lead London Blundell, beat Team McInnis from the same club at northern playdowns to earn their berth.

Two Kootenays teams have also earned berths after playdowns. Team Tom Buchy, from the Kimberley Curling Club, is back for another shot at the BC title. Skip Tom Buchy, Third Fred Thomson, Second Dave Toffolo and Lead Darren Will return to the BC championship with a new player (Thomson) after coming in fourth place at last year’s event in Parksville.

Team Trevor Perepolkin, from the Castlegar Curling Club, earned the B event spot at the Kootenays playdowns. The team is rounded out by Third Deane Horning, Second Tyler Orme, Lead Don Freschi, alternate Kevin Nesbitt and Coach Terry Bublitz. Perepolkin is a four-time BC Junior Men’s champion, but has never won a Men’s championship.

Three teams from the Lower Mainland also qualified over the weekend. Team Dean Joanisse from the Royal City Curling Club qualified in the A event, Team Grant Dezura, from the Golden Ears Winter Club qualified in the B event, and Team Brent Pierce, from the Royal City Curling Club, qualified in the C event.

Team Joanisse, rounded out by Mike Johnson (throwing fourth rocks), Second Paul Cseke and Lead John Cullen, is made up of a newly formed line-up this year. Joanisse is a past BC men’s champion and he and his teammates recently placed second place at the Kamloops Crown of Curling cashspiel. In addition to being a competitive curler, lead Cullen does stand-up comedy and a regular interview feature for Curling Zone, an online portal for curling fans.

Team Dezura, rounded out by Kevin MacKenzie (throwing fourth rocks), Second Jamie Smith, Lead Kevin Recksiedler and alternate Jay Peachey all have BC championship experience, but this is a new line-up for 2014. The team finished first in the Kamloops Crown of Curling. Dezura is a former BC Junior champion and MacKenzie is the brother of Kelly Scott, the six-time BC Scotties champion.

Team Pierce, rounded out by Sean Geall (throwing fourth rocks), Second Sebastien Robillard, Lead Mark Olson, alternate Ken Maskiewich and coach Katie Witt, is an experienced rink. Pierce has travelled to three Briers and, with a different team, he won silver in last year’s Canadian Direct Insurance BC Men’s Curling Championship.

The remaining three qualification events will be held at Kamloops Curling Club (Dec. 13-15), Victoria Curling Centre (Dec. 13-15) and Salmon Arm Curling Club (Jan. 10-12).

The 2014 Canadian Direct Insurance BC Men’s Curling Championship will take place at the Vancouver Curling Club from February 5-9, 2014 and will be televised on Sportsnet. For more information, or to buy tickets, visit http://cdimens2014.curlbc.ca.  




About Curl BC
Curl BC is the provincial sport governing body responsible for the development, promotion and organization of curling in British Columbia. Curl BC is also responsible for the championship system that declares provincial representation at National events. In cooperation with its Members, Curl BC provides services to both competitive and recreational curlers, including a variety of adaptive groups.


  • RSS
  • Newsletter
  • Facebook
  • Forum
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
Skip to toolbar