Our House is Your House

Four junior teams clinch berths to provincials following tour

Four junior curling teams have clinched spots at the 2016 Tim Hortons BC Junior Curling Championships thanks to their success on the BC Junior Curling Tour.

A total of five curling centres hosted BC Junior Curling Tour bonspiels, with the last event taking place at Esquimalt Curling Club on the weekend (Nov 13-15), where the final Tour points were awarded.

On the junior women’s side, Team Sarah Daniels’ rink of third Dezaray Hawes, second Marika Van Osch and lead Megan Daniels finished with the top score of 64.1 points. They took part in four events, winning all four. The Kamloops rink of skip Corryn Brown, third Erin Pincott, second Samantha Fisher and lead Sydney Fraser took second place, with 32 points overall from three tour appearances.

Both junior women’s teams now have a guaranteed spot at the 2016 Tim Hortons BC Junior Curling Championships, which take place at the Kamloops Curling Club from December 29, 2015 to January 3, 2016.

On the junior men’s side, Team Tyler Tardi’s rink of third Daniel Wenzek, second Jordan Tardi, lead Nicholas Meister and fifth Sterling Middleton, clinched the top spot with three overall wins out of four appearances on the tour. The team from Langley Curling Club collected a total of 73.75 points.

In second place, and taking the second berth, was Team Matthew McCrady, from Royal City Curling Club in New Westminster. The rink of skip McCrady, third Zac Curtis, second Liam Purgavie and lead Jacob Umbach collected 54.175 points from four appearances.

The five BC Junior Curling Tour events were The Anita Cochrane Memorial Cashspiel at Royal City Curling Club in New Westminster, The Abbotsford Junior Cashspiel at Abbotsford Curling Club, The Rick Cotter Memorial Cashspiel at Vernon Curling Club, The Interior Beverages Junior Spiel at Kelowna Curling Club and the Esquimalt Optimist Junior Cashspiel at Esquimalt Curling Club.

Five-time BC men’s champion Jim Cotter, who was instrumental in setting up the BC Junior Curling Tour, said: “It has been great to see so many young teams get the opportunity to compete early in the season. We’re glad the inaugural tour has been so warmly welcomed by everyone and we hope to see it grow bigger and better every year.”

The 2016 Tim Hortons BC Junior Curling Championships will see eight teams of each gender play against each other in an eight-team round robin with a four-team page playoff.

It means a further six berths are available to teams of each gender. Playdowns will take place in Prince George and Port Moody November 20-22 and Kimberley and Vernon December 4-6 to decide who will get the remaining berths.

Team Brown was last year’s BC junior women’s champion and went on to win bronze at nationals.

Team Henderson, last year’s BC junior men’s champion, was the only team to have won an event on the BC Junior Curling Tour (Esquimalt) and not won a berth. They finished the Tour in third place with 43.175 points.

For more information on the BC Junior Curling tour, visit www.curlbc.ca/bcjct/.

For results from playdowns leading up to the 2016 Tim Hortons BC Junior Curling Championships, visit www.playdowns.com.

  • RSS
  • Newsletter
  • Facebook
  • Forum
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
Skip to toolbar