Our House is Your House

Field is set for the 2016 Tim Hortons BC Senior Curling Championships

Richmond will be playing host to the province’s best senior curlers from February 15-21 when the 2016 Tim Hortons BC Senior Curling Championships roll into the city.

Sixteen teams from across the province will be vying for the opportunity to represent BC at the Canadian Senior Curling Championships in Digby, Nova Scotia.

Regional playdowns took place in Grand Forks, Enderby, Nanaimo, Kitimat and Abbotsford to decide who would represent each region at the provincial championship.

Along with the two teams from northern BC who qualified at the beginning of January (Team Boese, from Smithers Curling Club, and Team Bulleid, from Terrace Curling Club) seven further senior teams of each gender have now qualified.

The senior women roster includes two-time BC senior women’s champion, Penny Shantz, from Parksville. Shantz won a gold medal at the Calgary Olympics when curling was a demonstration sport. The senior men’s field includes Bob Ursel, of Kelowna, who represented BC at the Brier in 1999, 2003 and 2008. Coach Karen Lepine, from Langley, is the current Canadian Master Women’s champion, and Katie Witt, of Coquitlam, is the coach for Team Daniels, who recently returned from junior nationals with silver medals.

In men’s play, Team Marshall from Chilliwack, Team Roemer from Delta Thistle, Team Harris from Cloverdale, Team Lepine from Langley, Team Nichol from Castlegar, Team Craig from Victoria and Team Ursel from Kelowna complete the field.

In women’s play, Team Shantz from Nanaimo, Team Matthews from Trail, Team Richter from Penticton/Vancouver, Team Deputan from Chilliwack, Team Noble from Qualicum Beach/Royal City, Team Foster from Kelowna and Team Clement from Summerland complete the field.

Visit http://www.playdowns.com and click on the Curl BC tab to see scores and standings and to follow the events as they happen.

A full roster of the teams is attached.


2016 Tim Hortons BC Senior Curling Championships Roster


Team Boese – Smithers
Garnet Boese, skip – Prince George
Ron Vanderstar, third – Smithers
Lyle Hensrud, second – MacKenzie
Len Vanderstar, lead – Smithers

Team Craig – Victoria
Wes Craig, skip – Shawnigan Lake
Scott Macdonald, third – Shawnigan Lake
Tony Anslow, second – Victoria
Victor Gamble, lead – Duncan
Coach Roselyn Craig

Team Harris – Cloverdale
Stu Harris, skip – Surrey
Dean Lunn, third – Surrey
Ernie Daniels, second – Delta
Dwayne Uyede, lead – Abbotsford

Team Lepine – Langley
Craig Lepine, skip – Surrey
Stan Walker, third – Vancouver
Craig McLeod, second – Penticton
Mike Pelech, lead – Surrey
Dale Reibin, fifth
Coach Karen Lepine

Team Marshall – Chilliwack
Doug Marshall, skip – Chilliwack
Kevin Britz, third – Chilliwack
Ken Britz, second – Chilliwack
Darren Jarvis, lead – Chilliwack

Team Nichol – Castlegar
Myron Nichol – Castlegar
Bill van Yzerloo – Castlegar
Garry Beaudry – Nelson
Richard Faunt – Trail

Team Roemer – Delta Thistle
Al Roemer, skip – Delta
Mike Weir, third – Surrey
Garry Olson, second – Delta
Ray Wong, lead – Burnaby
Kevin Jeannotte, fifth

Team Ursel – Kelowna
Bob Ursel, skip – Kelowna
Dave Stephenson, third – Kelowna
Don Freschi, second – Rossland
Fred Thomson, lead – Nelson


Team Bulleid – Terrace
Lisa Bullied, skip – Terrace
Sylvia Griffith, third – Terrace
Kathie Simpson, second – Terrace
Joan Kucharyshen, lead – Terrace

Team Clement – Summerland
Jackie Clement, skip – Penticton
Diane Tetreault, third – Oliver
Sylvia Lowe, second – Oliver
Tammy Brennan, lead – Summerland
Lil Blashko, fifth – Kaleden

Team Deputan – Chilliwack
Lisa Deputan, skip – Chilliwack
Kerri Miller, third – Hope
Janet Klebe, second – Chilliwack
Laurie Shimizu, lead – Richmond
Coach Doug Marshall

Team Foster – Kelowna
Diane Foster, skip – White Rock
Leanne Ursel, third – Kelowna
Cindy Curtain, second – Penticton
Sherry Heath, lead – Lumby

Team Noble – Qualicum & District/Royal City
Lynn Noble, skip – Qualicum Beach
Katie Witt, third – Coquitlam
Colleen Robson, second – Courtenay
Janet Harris, lead – Surrey
Kathy Branch, fifth
Coach Ellen Merriam

Team Richter – Penticton/Vancouver
Marilou Richter, skip – Penticton
Debbie Jones-Walker, third – Vancouver
Brenda Garvey, second – Kamloops
Pam Cuthbert, lead – Maple Ridge

Team Matthews – Trail
Marnie Matthews, skip – Trail
Rose Beauchamp, third – Trail
Carol Bennett, second – Nelson
Cathy McLeod, lead – Nelson

Team Shantz – Nanaimo
Penny Shantz, skip – Parksville
Tracey Newlands, third – Nanaimo
Deb Pulak, second, – Nanaimo
Kelly Bleau, lead – Qualicum Beach
Coach Jim Newlands

  • RSS
  • Newsletter
  • Facebook
  • Forum
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
Skip to toolbar