Our House is Your House

Field is set for the 2015 Tim Hortons BC Junior Curling Championships

The full line-up for the 2015 Tim Hortons BC Junior Curling Championships has been decided.

Eight Junior Men’s and eight Junior Women’s teams have now qualified for the junior provincial event which takes place at Parksville Curling Club from December 28 2014 – January 3 2015.

The Junior Men’s and Junior Women’s finals will be televised on Sportsnet on January. Visit http://www.curlbc.ca/communications/tv-schedules/ for the TV schedule.

On the Junior Men’s side, Team Tanaka will be returning to the Championships after defeating Team Horvath – a foursome which contained two 2014 gold medallists – in the A Event. The team, who represent Abbotsford Curling Club, also competed last year. They are skipped by Cody Tanaka and the team is rounded out by Kyle Habkirk (Third), Travis Cameron (Second) and Donny Mackintosh (Lead).

Another team competing is Team Henderson, from the Victoria Curling Centre, who qualified in the Coastal Playdowns B event, with Skip Paul Henderson, Third Duncan Silversides, Second Benton Boychuk-Chorney, Lead Jacob Zorn and Fifth Tim Henderson.

They will be joined by fellow Islanders Team Croteau who qualified from the C Event. The team, who curl at the Victoria Curling Centre and Juan de Fuca Curling Centre, is made up of Connor Croteau who skips the team with Matt MacDonald playing Third, Derek Chandler at Second and Scott Gray at Lead.

Team Carpenter, from Royal City Curling Club, also qualified in the Coastal C Event. The team is made up of Skip Brayden Carpenter, Third Tyler Proctor, Second Matthew Chan and Lead Breyden Chong.

The winner of the Kootenay playdown, and qualifier for the Interior region, is Team Bartlett. The team, who play at Grand Forks Curling Club and Invermere Curling Club, is made up of Skip Zane Bartkett, Third Sam Gaspar, Second Logan Powell and Lead Jordan Field

The junior men from the Coastal playdowns will be joined at the Championships by two rinks from Vernon Curling Club, Team Love and Team Schiman. Team Love consists of Skip Thomas Love, Third Erik Colwell, Second Brendan Chapple and Lead Johnathan Schwartz. Matt Schiman, who competed at the Championships last year, will return to skip Team Schiman alongside Third Jesse Monette, Second Ben Morin and Lead Adam Raber.

The final team in the Men’s draw will be Team Loeppky of Prince Rupert Curling Club. The team is skipped by Jonathan Loeppky, the Third is David Bartel, Second is Matthew Dann, Lead is Brock Griffin and Fifth is Thomas Dann.

Whilst there will be quite a few curlers making their Championship debut on the Men’s side, the Junior Women’s draw contains several familiar faces including members of all three medal winning teams from last year.

Team Daniels, who qualified in the Coastal A Event, is made up of three gold medallists from the 2014 Tim Hortons BC Junior Curling Championships. Sarah Daniels (Skip), Marika Van Osch (Third) and Megan Daniels (Lead) will be hoping to repeat last year’s success alongside their new teammate Dezaray Hawes (Second).

The 2013 Canadian Junior Champions, Team Brown, will also be competing after they qualified at the Okanagan playdown. The team from Kamloops Curling Club is skipped by Corryn Brown, Third is Erin Pincott, Second is Samantha Fisher and Lead is Sydney Fraser. It is the same rink that won the national title two years ago and took silver at last year’s BC Junior Championships.

Shawna Jensen, who was a bronze medallist in 2014, will this year skip a team made up of curlers from three different locations – Powell River Curling Club, Juan de Fuca Curling Centre and Delta Thistle Curling Club. Skip Shawna will be joined by Third Katherine Silversides, Second Michaela Douglas, Lead Rebecca Douglas and Fifth Sarah McCrady after they qualified in the C and F Event at the Coastal playdown.

Vancouver Island’s Team Coulombe, who represent Victoria Curling Club and Juan de Fuca Curling Centre, will also be competing at the Championships. The rink is made up of Skip Mariah Coulombe, Third Bailey Tinkler, Second Jordan Koster and Lead Sydney Brilz. The team qualified in the A and B Event at the Coastal playdown.

Another team who qualified from the Coastal A and B Event is Team Zucchet, who represent Chilliwack Curling Club. The foursome consists of Skip Kirsten Zucchet, Third Cailin Cooke, Second Everly Royea and Lead Jasmi Jani.

The final team to qualify at the Coastal playdown was Team Egan from the Coquitlam Curling Centre. The team is skipped by Briana Egan, and is rounded out by Third Caitlin Campbell, Second Janice Pang, Lead Angelique Miller and Fifth Sienna Yang.

They will be joined at the Championships by Team Fisher, representing the Vernon Curling Centre, who made it through the Okanagan A and B Event. The team is made up of Skip Cierra Fisher, Third Sydney Hofer, Second Kylie Tokairin and Lead Jaelyn Cotter – daughter of 2014 Brier star Jim Cotter.

The final team rounding out the field will be Team Connell from Prince George. The team consists of Skip Alyssa Connell, Third Bailey Eberherr, Second Jordan Henson and Lead Erin Ross.

The results of Curl BC playdowns can be viewed on http://www.playdowns.com/ under the British Columbia (Curl BC) tab.

Admission to the championships is free. For information about the Parksville Curling Club, visit http://www.parksvillecurling.com.

  • RSS
  • Newsletter
  • Facebook
  • Forum
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
Skip to toolbar