One House, Great Delivery

Curlers at 2016 Tim Hortons BC Juniors head into playoffs

The Kamloops Curling Club rink of Corryn Brown has secured a playoff berth in style, going undefeated in seven games in front of a crowd full of the team’s friends, family and fans.

This is the last year the foursome of Brown, third Erin Pincott, second Samantha Fisher and lead Sydney Fraser will be able to play at the junior level, with Pincott unable to compete in the under-21 competition next year.

But the team, which is coached by Allison McInnes, still have to get past Sarah Daniels’ Royal City rink before they can secure a place in the final. The Daniels rink features third Marika Van Osch, second Dezaray Hawes, lead Megan Daniels and coaches Katie Witt and Ernie Daniels, who finished in second place with a 6-1 record, after an exciting last game with Team Coulombe which saw them steal one in the 10th for a 7-6 win.

The page 1 vs 2 game will take place tomorrow at 2 p.m. with the winner getting a bye to the final.

In third place is Sarah Loken’s Delta Thistle Curling Club rink featuring skip Loken, third Catera Park, second Kylie Karoway, lead Kim Bonneau and coach Marion McNeill. They will play against fourth-placed team, Team Coulombe. Skip Mariah Coulombe’s Victoria Curling Centre rink features third Bailey Tinkler , second Jordan Koster, lead Sydney Brilz and coach Andrew Komlodi.

The page 3 vs 4 game (tomorrow at 2 p.m.) will see the winner take on the loser of the 1 vs 2 game (tomorrow at 2 p.m.) in the semis (tomorrow at 7 p.m.). The final will be on Sunday at 9 a.m.

On the junior men’s side, Tyler Tardi’s Langley/Royal City rink of third Daniel Wenzek, second Jordan Tardi, lead Nicholas Meister, fifth Sterling Middleton and coach Paul Tardi, have secured first place, going undefeated through round robin play. The Victoria rink of Paul Henderson, meanwhile, secured second place by only losing to Team Tardi in round robin play. The Henderson rink features third Duncan Silversides, second Benton Boychuk-Chorney, lead Timothy Henderson and coach Todd Troyer.

The two teams will play each other again in the page 1 vs 2 playoff, which takes place tomorrow at 2 p.m., with the winner getting a bye to the final (Sunday at 2 p.m.).

Team McCrady from the Royal City Curling Club secured third place with a record of 4 wins and 3 losses. The Matthew McCrady rink features third Zac Curtis, second Liam Purgavie, lead Jacob Umbach and coach Ken McCardle.

Tiebreakers are needed to determine which team will finish in fourth place. Team Kiss from Royal City Curling Club, Team Love from Vernon Curling Club and Team Carpenter from Royal City Curling Club are in contention. A tiebreaker takes place tonight at 7 p.m. (Team Love vs Team Carpenter). The winner will face Team Kiss tomorrow at 9 a.m.

The page 3 vs 4 game (tomorrow at 2 p.m.) will see the winner take on the loser of the 1 vs 2 game (tomorrow at 2 p.m.) in the semis tomorrow at 7 p.m. The winner of that will be in the final on Sunday at 2 p.m.

The event at Kamloops Curling Club started on Tuesday, December 29 and will run until Sunday. The junior women’s final will be televised at 9 a.m. on Sportsnet Pacific and the junior men’s final will be televised at 2 p.m. on Sportsnet One.

You can follow the live scores and standings at

The winning teams will travel to Stratford, Ontario for the 2016 Canadian Junior Curling Championships, presented by Egg Farmers of Ontario. The winners of that event will go to the World Junior Curling Championships in Erzurum, Turkey.

The Flora Martin Sportsmanship Award for junior women and the Gordon Hooey Sportsmanship Award for junior men were awarded after round robin play. Sydney Brilz from Team Coulombe (Victoria) and Zane Bartlett from Team Bartlett (Grand Forks) were voted the most sportsmanlike curlers by their peers.

The Asham Coach Awards went to Jim Cotter, coach of Team Harvey and Todd Troyer, coach of Team Henderson.

  • RSS
  • Newsletter
  • Facebook
  • Forum
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
Skip to toolbar