Our House is Your House

2016 Canadian Direct Insurance BC Men’s Curling Championship starts

The team that will represent British Columbia at the 2016 Tim Hortons Brier has started their journey – but first they will have to knock out the competition at the provincial championship.

A total of 16 teams are looking to lock up the B.C. title at the 2016 Canadian Direct Insurance BC Men’s Curling Championship, which gets underway tomorrow.

The teams have already gathered in Nelson for their first practices. But the first draw of the triple knockout competition starts tomorrow (February 10) with the semi final and final scheduled for Sunday, February 14. The winner will represent B.C. at the Tim Hortons Brier in Ottawa (March 5-13).

Among the competitors is five-time B.C. champion and 2013 Roar of the Rings Olympic Trials silver medalist Jim Cotter and his Vernon/Kelowna rink of third Ryan Kuhn, second Tyrel Griffith and lead Rick Sawatsky. Also fighting for another B.C. title is Dean Joanisse, 2001 and 2007 B.C. champion, and his Royal City rink of third Paul Cseke, second Jay Wakefield and lead John Cullen.

View all past B.C. champions at http://www.curlbc.ca/bc-past-champions/.

Also competing at the event are Team Wenzek, with three of the players from Team Tardi, who recently returned from the 2016 Canadian Junior Curling Championships with bronze medals. The team of Daniel Wenzek, Jordan Tardi and Nicholas Meister will be competing with a spare because Tyler Tardi is curling in the Youth Olympic Games in Norway.

The other teams to qualify include Team Buchy, from Kimberley Curling Club, Team Ducharme, from Creston Curling Club, Team Richard, from Kelowna Curling Club, Team Longworth, from Vernon Curling Club, Team Craig, from Victoria Curling Centre, Team Dangerfield, from Victoria Curling Centre, Team Johnson, from Royal City Curling Club, Team Martyn, from Royal City Curling Club, Team Schneider, from Vancouver Curling Club, Team Geall, from Royal City Curling Club, Team Jackson, from Victoria Curling Centre, Team House, from Richmond Curling Club and Team Montgomery from Victoria Curling Centre.

The semi finals and finals of this year’s championship will be televised on Sportsnet. The semi finals will be televised at 11 a.m. on Sportsnet Pacific and the finals will be televised at 4 p.m. on Sportsnet 360.

For ticket information, and to find out more about the event, visit http://cdimens2016.curlbc.ca/.

Visit http://playdowns.com/curlbc/event.php?id_cmp=600 under the Curl BC tab to view past scores and to follow the championship event.


Team Buchy (Kimberley Curling Club)
Skip: Tom Buchy – Kimberley
Third: Deane Horning – Castlegar
Second: Dave Toffolo – Kimberley
Lead: Darren Will – Fernie

Team Cotter (Vernon/Kelowna Curling Clubs)
Skip: Jim Cotter – Vernon
Third: Ryan Kuhn – Vernon
Second: Tyrel Griffith – Kelowna
Lead: Rick Sawatsky – Kelowna
Coach: Pat Ryan

Team Craig (Victoria Curling Centre)
Skip: Wes Craig – Shawnigan Lake
Third: Scott Macdonald – Shawnigan Lake
Second: Tony Anslow – Victoria
Lead: Victor Gamble – Duncan
Coach: Roselyn Craig

Team Dangerfield (Victoria Curling Centre)
Skip: Neil Dangerfield – Victoria
Third: Denis Sutton – Victoria
Second: Darren Boden – Victoria
Lead: Glen Allen – Victoria

Team Ducharme (Creston Curling Club)
Skip: Chris Ducharme – Wynndel
Third: Josh Firman – Creston
Second: Jim Stewart – Creston
Lead: Jim Macaulay – Creston
Fifth: Brendan Stead – Erickson

Team Geall (Royal City Curling Club)
Skip: Sean Geall – Abbotsford
Third: Andrew Bilesky – New Westminster
Second: Steve Kopf – Port Coquitlam
Lead: Mark Olson – Surrey
Coach: Neil Houston

Team House (Richmond Curling Club)
Skip: Will House – Vancouver
Third: Kelly McQuiggan – Vancouver
Second: Greg Davis – Vancouver
Lead: Thomas Sayer – Vancouver
Coach: Terry Bublitz

Team Jackson (Victoria Curling Centre)
Skip: Glen Jackson – Victoria
Third: Andrew Komlodi – Victoria
Second: Corey Chester – Victoria
Lead: Joel Cave – Victoria

Team Joanisse (Royal City Curling Club)
Skip: Dean Joanisse – Abbotsford
Third: Paul Cseke – Vancouver
Second: Jay Wakefield – Vancouver
Lead: John Cullen – Vancouver
Coach: Brett Kury

Team Johnson (Royal City Curling Club)
Skip: Michael Johnson – Surrey
Third: Chris Baier – Victoria
Second: Ty Dilello – Surrey
Lead: Mitch Young – New Westminster

Team Longworth (Vernon Curling Club)
Skip: Mark Longworth – Vernon
Third: Michael Longworth – Vernon
Second: Blaine Black – Penticton
Lead: John Slattery – Vernon

Team Martyn (Royal City Curling Club)
Skip: Chase Martyn – Burnaby
Third: Cody Johnston – Vancouver
Second: Jeff Guignard – Vancouver
Lead: Will Sutton – Vancouver
Coach: Karen Watson

Team Montgomery (Victoria Curling Centre)
Skip: Jason Montgomery – Shawnigan Lake
Third: Miles Craig – Shawnigan Lake
Second: Cameron de Jong – Victoria
Lead: Dave McGarry – Lake Country
Team Richard (Kelowna Curling Club)

Skip: Jeff Richard – Lake Country
Third: Ted Appelman – Edmonton
Second: Bryan Kedziora – Maple Ridge
Lead: David Harper – Kelowna
Fifth: Tom Shypitka – Cranbrook
Coach: Gerry Richard

Team Schneider (Vancouver Curling Club)
Skip: Stephen Schneider – Vancouver
Third: Jamie Sexton – Vernon
Second: Shawn Eklund – Vancouver
Lead: Brant Amos – Vancouver

Team Wenzek (Langley/Royal City curling clubs)
Last rocks: Daniel Wenzek – Burnaby
Third: Jordan Tardi – Surrey
Second/holding broom: Nicholas Meister – Langley

  • RSS
  • Newsletter
  • Facebook
  • Forum
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
Skip to toolbar