Our House is Your House

2016 BC Masters Curling Championships start

Abbotsford is hosting the province’s best master curlers from today until March 13.

This year is the 29th edition of the BC Master Men’s Curling Championship and the 17th edition of the BC Master Women’s Championship.

Sixteen teams (8 teams of curlers aged 60+ of each gender) from across the province are vying for the opportunity to represent BC at the Canadian Master Curling Championships in Kings County, Nova Scotia, from April 4-10.

Regional playdowns took place in Creston, Osoyoos, Williams Lake, Duncan and Mission to decide who would represent each region at the provincial championship.

The women’s roster includes the defending national championship team, Team Lepine, of Cloverdale/Langley, while the men’s roster includes a two-time BC Master Men’s championship team, Team Will of Cranbrook.

In men’s play, Team Gelowitz of Kelowna, Team Walker of Esquimalt, Team Gallaugher of Duncan, Team Beaudry of Grand Forks, Team Pughe of New Westminster (Royal City), Team Switzer of Richmond and Team Moore of Golden Ears complete the field.

In women’s play, Team Babson of Salmon Arm, Team Holden of Comox, Team Obee of Nanaimo, Team Fiedler of Cranbrook, Team Smiley of New Westminster (Royal City), Team Jarvos of Langley and Team Bentley of Quesnel complete the field.

Visit http://www.playdowns.com and click on the Curl BC tab to see scores and standings and to follow the events as they happen.

A full roster of the teams can be viewed by clicking here.

  • RSS
  • Newsletter
  • Facebook
  • Forum
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
Skip to toolbar